James Hardie Industries plc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, James Hardie Industries plc had return on equity of 2.4% and a net margin of 2.2%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Mar 2010 | 2011Mar 2011 | 2012Mar 2012 | 2013Mar 2013 | 2014Mar 2014 | 2015Mar 2015 | 2016Mar 2016 | 2017Mar 2017 | 2018Mar 2018 | 2019Mar 2019 | 2020Mar 2020 | 2021Mar 2021 | 2022Mar 2022 | 2023Mar 2023 | 2024Mar 2024 | 2025Mar 2025 | 2026Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | −7.5% | −29.7% | 48.8% | 3.4% | 6.7% | 17.6% | 14.1% | 14.4% | 7.1% | 9.1% | 9.3% | 9.0% | 12.7% | 13.6% | 13.0% | 10.9% | 2.2% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | 62.9% | — | — | — | — | — | 60.8% | 24.0% | 25.1% | 38.4% | 34.8% | 29.4% | 21.1% | 2.4% |
| Return on assets | −3.9% | −16.8% | 28.3% | 2.1% | 4.7% | 14.0% | 12.0% | 13.7% | 6.7% | 7.2% | 6.0% | 6.5% | 11.0% | 11.7% | 10.9% | 8.4% | 1.1% |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | −35.0% | — | 9.7% | 26.1% | 24.7% | 16.2% | 23.9% | 16.1% | 36.2% | 28.6% | 29.2% | 32.4% | 34.3% | 49.7% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 2.4% | 2.4% | 2.5% | 2.8% | 2.2% | 1.9% | 1.7% | 1.6% | 1.6% | 1.5% | 1.3% | 1.2% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 1.2% | 1.3% | 1.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 16.5% | 14.9% | 15.4% | 16.5% | 15.0% | 14.8% | 14.7% | 15.2% | 15.2% | 16.1% | 16.0% | 13.4% | 12.8% | 13.1% | 15.3% | 15.4% | 19.6% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | 2.9% | 414.3% | 200.1% | 133.9% | 100.9% | 63.9% | 121.5% | 75.2% | 65.7% | 0.0% | 105.4% | 25.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.8bn of assets due within a year against $1.1bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.8bn short-term assets against $5.8bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt $290m of cash against $4.3bn of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 65% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Debt to equity moved from 81% to 65% over five years.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Knife River Corp statistics
- Eagle Materials Inc statistics
- Martin Marietta Materials statistics
- Vulcan Materials Company statistics
- Titan America SA statistics
Head to head: JHX vs KNFEXP vs JHXJHX vs MLM
More: Construction Materials stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies