Karyopharm Therapeutics Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Karyopharm Therapeutics Inc. had an operating margin of -62.1% and a current ratio of 1.12. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −593.0% | −462.9% | −159.0% | −46.8% | −90.5% | −88.7% | −82.2% | −62.1% | −56.2% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −588.1% | −488.1% | −181.6% | −59.1% | −105.2% | −98.0% | −52.6% | −134.2% | −153.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −532.3% | −467.1% | −148.4% | −51.2% | −95.3% | −63.5% | −87.9% | −51.6% | −44.6% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −53.4% | −41.9% | −58.3% | −60.8% | −88.4% | −114.1% | −171.4% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Return on assets | — | <−999% | −42.6% | −40.0% | −54.2% | −55.4% | −71.5% | −68.4% | −62.7% | −64.6% | −40.1% | −49.8% | −47.8% | −37.8% | −143.7% | −204.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.48 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.12 | 0.13 | 0.36 | 0.68 | 0.47 | 0.49 | 0.72 | 1.07 | 1.33 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.49 | 47.98 | 16.89 | 11.74 | 7.99 | 3.00 | 7.13 | 6.01 | 4.59 | 3.74 | 5.31 | 3.37 | 1.70 | 1.12 | 0.79 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 56.0% | 220.7% | 233.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | n/m | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 531.9% | 299.2% | 139.5% | 76.7% | 94.6% | 95.0% | 98.6% | 86.0% | 82.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | 161.0% | 257.8% | 117.0% | 68.6% | 92.6% | 90.3% | 79.5% | 72.0% | 69.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 247.4% | 19.1% | 14.7% | >999% | 566.4% | 45.5% | 3.9% | 7.8% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −67.8% | −102.4% | −110.8% | −64.3% | −34.6% | −52.4% | −76.3% | −67.4% |
| Net margin | −82.7% | −100.8% | −78.2% | −98.2% | −75.2% | −299.9% | −63.9% | −200.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −50.2% | −84.3% | −129.9% | −49.3% | −13.3% | −34.7% | — | −74.6% |
| Current ratio | 3.00 | 1.70 | 1.33 | 0.99 | 1.03 | 1.12 | 1.08 | 0.79 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 93.2% | 109.0% | 115.3% | 86.4% | 69.3% | 81.2% | 96.4% | 86.6% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 71.2% | 89.0% | 91.1% | 75.1% | 60.4% | 66.8% | 76.1% | 77.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $106m of assets due within a year against $134m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $106m short-term assets against $307m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$82m against $49m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Karyopharm Therapeutics's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -57.7% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -135.7%; its worst year was -68034.9%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 9 years, at a median -89.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 5411.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 19.7% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (12 before it).
Compare with peers
- Beam Therapeutics Inc. statistics
- Agenus Inc statistics
- Immunitybio, Inc. statistics
- Nuvation Bio Inc. statistics
- Mesoblast LTD statistics
Head to head: BEAM vs KPTIAGEN vs KPTIIBRX vs KPTI
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies