Kimbell Royalty Partners, LP key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Kimbell Royalty Partners, LP had an operating margin of 39.8% and a current ratio of 8.64. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −68.6% | −140.1% | −277.1% | 36.4% | 55.2% | 37.4% | 12.0% | 39.8% | 40.1% |
| Net margin | −80.8% | −146.2% | −283.0% | 31.3% | 52.7% | 28.2% | 3.6% | 29.9% | 29.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 46.7% | 63.8% | −28.0% | 26.7% | 10.2% | −107.6% | 81.1% | 7.1% | 69.7% |
| Return on assets | −7.5% | −21.1% | −39.0% | 7.3% | 15.6% | 6.9% | 0.9% | 8.5% | 7.9% |
| Asset turnover | 0.09 | 0.14 | 0.14 | 0.23 | 0.30 | 0.24 | 0.25 | 0.28 | 0.27 |
| Current ratio | 9.90 | 6.28 | 3.23 | 1.60 | 4.01 | 7.95 | 6.69 | 8.64 | 7.30 |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | 5.4x | 9.9x | 4.2x | 1.4x | 3.9x | 3.9x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | 0.2% | 2.1% | 4.3% | −7.5% | −1.3% | 0.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 24.0% | 20.9% | 28.6% | 19.9% | 11.7% | 12.1% | 12.5% | 11.9% | 11.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.6% | 10.8% | 96.8% | 40.8% | 57.0% | 166.9% | 0.0% | 66.7% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | 85.2% | 19.4% | −381.2% | >999% | 23.8% | 234.5% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 40.8% | −58.0% | 39.9% | 43.7% | 35.8% | 39.6% | 24.1% | 53.1% |
| Net margin | 30.8% | −58.8% | 30.7% | 30.8% | 27.7% | 30.1% | 10.6% | 42.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 74.5% | 84.8% | −200.1% | 83.4% | 77.8% | 69.4% | — | 60.7% |
| Current ratio | 5.20 | 6.69 | 6.01 | 5.45 | 5.39 | 8.64 | 5.12 | 7.30 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 11.3% | 14.0% | 11.4% | 11.1% | 12.5% | 12.6% | 14.3% | 9.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $101m of assets due within a year against $14m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $101m short-term assets against $484m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $137m against $35m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Kimbell Royalty Partners's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 9 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 2 / 20
Net income has been a median 3.0% of total assets over 9 years.
- Durability 6 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 20.8%; its worst year was -245.5%.
- Cash conversion 17 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 6 of 9 years, at a median 33.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Prairie Operating Co. statistics
- Vaalco Energy Inc statistics
- Ring Energy, Inc. statistics
- Vitesse Energy, Inc. statistics
- Obsidian Energy LTD. statistics
Head to head: KRP vs PROPEGY vs KRPKRP vs REIKRP vs VTS
More: Oil & Gas Exploration & Production stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies