Obsidian Energy LTD. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Obsidian Energy LTD. had return on equity of 2.5%, a net margin of 6.2%, debt equal to 13.2% of equity and a current ratio of 0.54. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | −121.0% | −18.9% | −79.8% | −206.4% | −249.2% | 91.7% | 105.1% | 15.8% | −26.8% | 6.2% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −38.1% | −3.6% | −18.1% | −6.9% | 7.2% | 12.8% | 18.4% | 8.8% | 2.5% | −10.3% |
| Return on equity | −31.4% | −3.8% | −15.2% | −53.6% | −105.0% | 77.7% | 70.6% | 6.6% | −13.3% | 2.5% |
| Return on assets | −21.2% | −2.6% | −10.8% | −34.8% | −51.7% | 35.3% | 45.4% | 4.8% | −9.3% | 1.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.17 | 0.14 | 0.14 | 0.17 | 0.21 | 0.38 | 0.43 | 0.30 | 0.35 | 0.29 |
| Current ratio | 0.99 | 0.66 | 0.40 | 0.28 | 0.11 | 0.16 | 0.45 | 0.41 | 1.79 | 0.54 |
| Debt to equity | 20.9% | 16.6% | 22.3% | 42.1% | 139.8% | 51.4% | 14.7% | 13.7% | 24.1% | 13.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 14.3% | 31.8% | 44.0% | 27.0% | 18.5% | 31.2% | 40.8% | 42.8% | 45.4% | 52.3% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | 14.0% | 17.5% | 55.7% | — | −167.9% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 78.7% | 221.8% | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $66m of assets due within a year against $122m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $66m short-term assets against $216m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 13% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Debt to equity moved from 0% to 13% over five years.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt $172m of operating cash flow against $131m of debt.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Greenfire Resources Ltd. statistics
- Vaalco Energy Inc statistics
- Riley Exploration Permian, Inc. statistics
- Prairie Operating Co. statistics
- Kimbell Royalty Partners, LP statistics
Head to head: GFR vs OBEEGY vs OBEOBE vs REPX
More: Oil & Gas Exploration & Production stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies