Nlight, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Nlight, Inc. had return on equity of -10.6%, an operating margin of -10.2%, debt equal to 17.6% of equity and a current ratio of 3.79. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 22.9% | 31.9% | 35.0% | 29.6% | 26.6% | 28.6% | 21.0% | 22.0% | 16.6% | 29.8% | 31.5% |
| Operating margin | −9.2% | 7.1% | 8.9% | −5.6% | −9.4% | −11.2% | −22.8% | −22.3% | −33.1% | −10.2% | −5.5% |
| Net margin | −14.0% | 1.3% | 7.3% | −7.3% | −9.4% | −11.0% | −22.5% | −19.9% | −30.6% | −9.0% | −4.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 1.9% | −1.5% | −3.8% | −9.4% | −4.7% | −9.9% | −14.8% | 2.3% | −5.2% | 4.7% | 13.5% |
| Return on equity | −47.8% | 4.0% | 10.0% | −5.9% | −9.6% | −11.4% | −19.1% | −15.9% | −25.8% | −10.6% | −3.7% |
| Return on assets | — | 1.7% | 7.7% | −5.2% | −7.8% | −9.0% | −15.5% | −13.1% | −21.1% | −8.0% | −3.0% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.26 | 1.06 | 0.71 | 0.83 | 0.82 | 0.69 | 0.66 | 0.69 | 0.89 | 0.75 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.93 | 9.27 | 7.93 | 4.85 | 6.06 | 6.69 | 6.73 | 5.67 | 3.79 | 8.17 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 28.5% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 17.6% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | 72.6% | 20.5% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 15.0% | 10.9% | 11.0% | 15.9% | 18.5% | 20.3% | 22.2% | 22.0% | 22.7% | 18.4% | 16.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 17.0% | 14.0% | 15.1% | 19.3% | 17.6% | 19.5% | 19.9% | 21.9% | 24.8% | 20.7% | 19.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.0% | 4.0% | 5.5% | 7.0% | 10.5% | 7.2% | 8.8% | 2.5% | 4.0% | 3.5% | 3.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | −112.8% | −51.7% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 22.4% | 2.4% | 26.7% | 29.9% | 31.1% | 30.7% | 33.1% | 31.1% |
| Operating margin | −21.0% | −55.8% | −18.6% | −6.9% | −10.9% | −6.7% | −0.9% | −4.3% |
| Net margin | −18.4% | −52.7% | −15.7% | −5.8% | −10.3% | −6.0% | 0.8% | −1.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −12.9% | −13.7% | −4.5% | −6.1% | 3.7% | 19.6% | 9.4% | 19.2% |
| Current ratio | 5.83 | 5.67 | 5.81 | 5.63 | 5.63 | 3.79 | 7.07 | 8.17 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 20.2% | 24.0% | 22.0% | 17.8% | 17.3% | 17.3% | 14.8% | 15.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 23.2% | 25.1% | 23.3% | 18.9% | 22.2% | 19.3% | 18.8% | 19.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $447m of assets due within a year against $55m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $447m short-term assets against $23m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$17m against $1m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Nlight's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 9 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 2 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 3.5% of total assets over 8 years.
- Pricing power 7 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 26.8%, moving by 5.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -12.3%; its worst year was -27.5%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 9 years, at a median -5.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 36.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 11.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (21 before it).
Compare with peers
- Turtle Beach Corp statistics
- Transcat Inc statistics
- Ituran Location & Control Ltd. statistics
- 3d Systems Corp statistics
- Powerfleet, Inc. statistics
Head to head: LASR vs TBCHLASR vs TRNSITRN vs LASR
More: Electronic Equipment & Instruments stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies