Comstock Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Comstock Inc. had return on equity of -51.5%, an operating margin of -2455.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.06. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 74.3% | 68.4% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 85.0% | −69.1% | — |
| Operating margin | <−999% | −590.0% | −84.3% | −34.0% | −67.2% | −201.4% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −743.0% | <−999% | −989.0% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | <−999% | −598.6% | −86.0% | −37.7% | −56.5% | −255.7% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | >999% | <−999% | <−999% | 718.9% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | −696.3% | −65.5% | −19.7% | −47.4% | −66.0% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −878.1% | <−999% | <−999% | −462.3% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Return on equity | −69.9% | −175.8% | −110.5% | −45.4% | −51.0% | −78.2% | −80.5% | −89.2% | −23.3% | 54.3% | −40.5% | −65.3% | 13.9% | −77.3% | −51.5% | −49.8% |
| Return on assets | −43.0% | −82.2% | −46.5% | −21.3% | −23.3% | −33.7% | −32.6% | −31.8% | −11.2% | 36.1% | −28.9% | −41.2% | 8.9% | −53.9% | −33.0% | −33.6% |
| Asset turnover | 0.02 | 0.14 | 0.54 | 0.57 | 0.41 | 0.13 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.03 | 0.01 | 0.01 |
| Current ratio | 1.82 | 0.79 | 0.46 | 0.69 | 0.47 | 3.29 | 6.97 | 3.58 | 3.00 | 4.32 | 0.58 | 0.97 | 1.56 | 1.55 | 2.06 | 3.20 |
| Debt to equity | 8.7% | 74.7% | 39.1% | 52.1% | 70.9% | 65.7% | 96.6% | 104.7% | 24.0% | 11.6% | 5.6% | 17.6% | 15.5% | 14.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 48.1% | >999% | 480.0% | 633.2% | 792.9% | >999% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | 643.4% | >999% | 987.8% | 421.2% | >999% | >999% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | >999% | 260.1% | 24.1% | 10.3% | 31.2% | 14.7% | 124.8% | >999% | >999% | 64.8% | 9.1% | 569.2% | 142.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −26.1% | — | — | −168.6% | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 100.0% | 71.7% | −12.9% | — | — | −60.7% | −91.4% | — |
| Operating margin | <−999% | −990.6% | −895.7% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −680.7% | −270.5% | −631.5% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Current ratio | 2.45 | 1.55 | 2.40 | 1.50 | 2.54 | 2.06 | 4.51 | 3.20 |
| Debt to equity | 16.5% | 14.2% | 23.3% | 11.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 258.9% | 889.1% | 420.4% | 624.6% | >999% | >999% | 668.8% | 837.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 570.9% | 200.5% | 414.7% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $58m of assets due within a year against $18m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $58m short-term assets against $35m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$59m against $864,993 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Comstock's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -32.5% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 0 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 12.7%, moving by 1013.8 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -2267.8%; its worst year was -14734.7%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 10 years, at a median -2385.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 8 / 20
The diluted share count rose 2266.9% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Ivanhoe Electric Inc. statistics
- Atlas Lithium Corp statistics
- Metalla Royalty & Streaming Ltd. statistics
- American Battery Technology Co statistics
- United States Antimony Corp statistics
Head to head: IE vs LODEATLX vs LODELODE vs MTA
More: Diversified Metals & Mining stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies