Lifeway Foods, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Lifeway Foods, Inc. had return on equity of 17.6%, an operating margin of 7.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.23. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 34.5% | 30.4% | 29.7% | 25.4% | 22.2% | 21.8% | 28.3% | 25.8% | 25.0% | 23.6% | 26.4% | 24.1% | 18.9% | 26.5% | 26.0% | 27.4% | 25.6% |
| Operating margin | 10.7% | 7.3% | 9.9% | 7.4% | 3.3% | 3.2% | 4.9% | −0.4% | −3.0% | −2.1% | 4.8% | 4.9% | 1.7% | 10.6% | 7.4% | 7.6% | 6.5% |
| Net margin | 6.2% | 4.1% | 6.3% | 4.6% | 1.5% | 1.4% | 2.8% | −0.3% | −3.0% | 0.5% | 3.2% | 2.8% | 0.7% | 7.1% | 4.8% | 6.5% | 4.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 5.8% | 3.7% | 5.8% | −2.4% | 1.1% | 3.5% | 1.5% | −1.3% | −0.4% | 2.8% | 4.4% | 3.1% | 0.4% | 7.9% | 3.4% | −7.7% | −11.3% |
| Return on equity | 10.8% | 8.3% | 15.1% | 12.1% | 4.5% | 4.4% | 7.4% | −0.7% | −6.9% | 1.1% | 7.2% | 6.9% | 1.9% | 21.0% | 13.6% | 17.6% | 12.8% |
| Return on assets | 7.0% | 5.5% | 10.7% | 8.5% | 3.1% | 3.1% | 5.3% | −0.5% | −5.1% | 0.8% | 5.5% | 5.0% | 1.3% | 15.1% | 10.5% | 14.1% | 9.1% |
| Asset turnover | 1.12 | 1.35 | 1.71 | 1.86 | 2.05 | 2.14 | 1.90 | 1.83 | 1.70 | 1.65 | 1.73 | 1.80 | 2.02 | 2.13 | 2.17 | 2.17 | 2.04 |
| Current ratio | 1.89 | 2.36 | 3.17 | 2.79 | 2.83 | 2.50 | 2.94 | 1.87 | 2.54 | 2.02 | 2.85 | 2.41 | 2.07 | 2.30 | 2.81 | 2.23 | 2.09 |
| Debt to equity | 26.7% | 24.4% | 15.4% | 25.0% | 22.1% | 19.4% | 16.5% | 20.3% | 0.0% | 6.3% | 5.9% | 11.2% | 11.1% | 6.6% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 25.9% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 17.9x | 20.5x | 49.8x | 39.6x | 15.3x | 18.7x | 27.7x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 41.7x | 50.7x | 8.8x | 44.3x | 131.9x | — | 48.4x |
| Effective tax rate | 43.8% | 40.9% | 36.3% | 36.5% | 53.4% | 50.6% | 38.3% | — | — | 63.3% | 33.1% | 41.0% | 49.8% | 31.7% | 35.4% | 29.6% | 29.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.8% | 2.1% | 1.6% | 7.8% | 2.8% | 1.5% | 2.6% | 4.5% | 2.7% | 1.3% | 1.9% | 1.6% | 2.4% | 2.7% | 3.6% | 12.9% | 15.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 93.5% | 91.2% | 92.5% | −52.9% | 72.0% | 240.9% | 53.7% | — | — | 581.2% | 138.9% | 110.0% | 58.2% | 110.8% | 69.4% | −118.4% | −251.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | −20.4% | 26.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 78.7% | 45.4% | −10.9% | — | — | 32.5% | 39.5% | — | — | 20.4% | 9.0% | 43.5% | 742.9% | 0.0% | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 25.7% | 25.3% | 23.9% | 28.6% | 28.7% | 27.8% | 27.5% | 19.5% |
| Operating margin | 9.1% | 1.5% | 3.4% | 10.8% | 8.8% | 6.8% | 10.0% | 0.9% |
| Net margin | 6.5% | −0.3% | 7.7% | 7.9% | 6.2% | 4.6% | 7.4% | 0.2% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 12.8% | −8.2% | −5.1% | 3.0% | 9.8% | −31.5% | −10.6% | −13.2% |
| Current ratio | 2.68 | 2.81 | 2.89 | 3.03 | 2.30 | 2.23 | 2.14 | 2.09 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $47m of assets due within a year against $23m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $47m short-term assets against $25m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $16m against $325,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Lifeway Foods's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 8 / 20
Net income has been a median 5.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 9 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 25.4%, moving by 2.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 4.5%; its worst year was -4.3%.
- Cash conversion 8 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 1.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 17 / 20
The diluted share count fell 1.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Bridgford Foods Corp statistics
- Mama's Creations, Inc. statistics
- Medifast Inc statistics
- Forafric Global PLC statistics
- Wing Yip Food Holdings Group Ltd statistics
Head to head: BRID vs LWAYLWAY vs MAMALWAY vs MED
More: Packaged Foods & Meats stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies