Medline Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Medline Inc. had return on equity of 10.7%, an operating margin of 7.8%, debt equal to 118.8% of equity and a current ratio of 4.29. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 24.3% | 25.3% | 27.3% | 26.4% |
| Operating margin | 4.0% | 5.4% | 8.4% | 7.8% |
| Net margin | −0.1% | 1.0% | 4.6% | 4.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | 6.1% | 5.5% | 4.6% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | 10.7% |
| Return on assets | — | — | 3.2% | 3.1% |
| Asset turnover | — | — | 0.71 | 0.76 |
| Current ratio | — | — | 3.39 | 4.29 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 118.8% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | 1.0x | 1.9x | 2.3x |
| Effective tax rate | — | 11.4% | 3.7% | 7.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | 16.6% | 16.1% | 15.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | 1.2% | 1.4% | 1.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 602.6% | 121.7% | 112.5% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 0.0% | 1.4% | 2.5% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 27.5% | 27.5% | 27.7% | 26.4% | 25.0% | 28.8% |
| Operating margin | 9.0% | 8.6% | 9.3% | 8.1% | 5.7% | 5.1% |
| Net margin | 5.1% | 4.8% | 4.8% | 4.5% | 1.8% | 0.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | 8.8% | 1.3% | — | 4.3% | 7.9% |
| Current ratio | — | — | — | — | 4.41 | 4.33 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | — | 111.5% | 108.7% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | 16.1% | 15.6% | — | 16.7% | 16.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $11.7bn of assets due within a year against $2.7bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $11.7bn short-term assets against $17.6bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt $2.3bn of cash against $12.6bn of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 109% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Henry Schein statistics
- Cencora statistics
- McKesson statistics
- 111, Inc. statistics
- Cosmos Health Inc. statistics
Head to head: HSIC vs MDLNCOR vs MDLNMCK vs MDLN
More: Health Care Distributors stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies