Marcus & Millichap, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Marcus & Millichap, Inc. had return on equity of -0.3%, an operating margin of -1.8%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.55. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | 38.0% | 38.0% | 38.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | 8.5% | 12.7% | 4.9% | 14.8% | 16.6% | 14.8% | 13.4% | 13.8% | 12.0% | 7.5% | 14.6% | 10.6% | −9.2% | −4.7% | −1.8% | 1.2% |
| Net margin | 4.9% | 7.2% | 1.9% | 8.7% | 9.6% | 9.0% | 7.2% | 10.7% | 9.5% | 6.0% | 11.0% | 8.0% | −5.3% | −1.8% | −0.3% | 1.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 5.4% | 8.0% | 21.1% | 12.0% | 9.5% | 9.1% | 8.3% | 13.4% | 2.0% | 4.3% | 19.2% | 0.2% | −12.7% | 2.0% | 7.8% | 10.4% |
| Return on equity | 66.7% | 133.7% | 19.5% | 55.2% | 43.4% | 28.9% | 18.0% | 24.1% | 17.0% | 8.2% | 22.9% | 14.8% | −5.0% | −1.9% | −0.3% | 2.4% |
| Return on assets | — | 31.1% | 6.4% | 24.7% | 23.9% | 18.1% | 12.1% | 17.0% | 12.1% | 5.8% | 15.6% | 10.2% | −3.6% | −1.4% | −0.2% | 1.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 4.30 | 3.39 | 2.85 | 2.48 | 2.01 | 1.69 | 1.59 | 1.26 | 0.96 | 1.42 | 1.27 | 0.69 | 0.80 | 0.89 | 1.02 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.23 | 2.11 | 2.45 | 2.61 | 2.99 | 3.85 | 4.00 | 4.03 | 3.57 | 2.70 | 3.47 | 3.74 | 3.08 | 2.55 | 2.92 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | 51.2x | 66.4x | 69.5x | 64.3x | 80.2x | 69.5x | 59.6x | — | 194.1x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 14.0x |
| Effective tax rate | 43.5% | 43.5% | 62.6% | 40.3% | 41.5% | 39.6% | 48.1% | 25.6% | 28.4% | 27.8% | 26.3% | 26.6% | — | — | — | 42.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 31.2% | 26.8% | 26.5% | 23.5% | 21.4% | 22.6% | 23.8% | 23.7% | 25.2% | 28.5% | 19.7% | 23.0% | 44.1% | 40.4% | 37.9% | 35.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.1% | 1.2% | 1.1% | 0.4% | 1.0% | 1.3% | 0.9% | 1.0% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 0.5% | 0.9% | 1.5% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 1.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 109.5% | 110.2% | >999% | 139.0% | 98.5% | 100.6% | 116.4% | 125.2% | 21.4% | 72.7% | 174.8% | 1.9% | — | — | — | 588.7% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 122.9% | 110.1% | 459.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 57.9% | — | — | — | 141.6% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 113.1% | 99.9% | 40.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | >999% | — | 151.8% | 78.1% | 75.5% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −6.8% | 2.8% | −12.2% | −5.3% | −1.2% | 6.3% | −3.4% | 1.1% |
| Net margin | −3.2% | 3.6% | −3.0% | −6.4% | 0.1% | 5.5% | −1.8% | 1.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 7.8% | 23.0% | −37.5% | 11.2% | 25.8% | 18.0% | −17.8% | 10.5% |
| Current ratio | 3.15 | 3.08 | 3.77 | 3.47 | 2.74 | 2.55 | 2.65 | 2.92 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 41.9% | 31.8% | 49.3% | 41.5% | 37.4% | 29.0% | 41.5% | 35.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $271m of assets due within a year against $93m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $271m short-term assets against $94m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $9m against $679,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Marcus & Millichap's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 13 / 20
Net income has been a median 8.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 2 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 10.2%; its worst year was -9.9%.
- Cash conversion 11 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 7.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 18 / 20
The diluted share count fell 3.6% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (55 before it).
Compare with peers
- Douglas Elliman Inc. statistics
- IHS Holding Ltd statistics
- Fathom Holdings Inc. statistics
- Offerpad Solutions Inc. statistics
- Zillow Group, Inc. statistics
Head to head: DOUG vs MMIIHS vs MMIFTHM vs MMIMMI vs OPAD
More: Real Estate Services stocks compared, Real Estate sector, rankings of US companies