Zillow Group, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Zillow Group, Inc. had return on equity of 0.5%, an operating margin of -1.3%, debt equal to 7.5% of equity and a current ratio of 3.13. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 90.5% | 91.0% | 90.7% | 91.8% | 92.1% | 88.5% | 43.7% | 84.3% | 84.8% | 81.3% | 78.4% | 76.4% | 74.1% | 72.9% |
| Operating margin | −8.6% | −13.7% | −23.2% | −22.8% | −15.0% | −9.7% | −9.0% | 6.7% | 11.2% | −4.7% | −13.9% | −8.8% | −1.3% | 0.4% |
| Net margin | −6.3% | −13.4% | −23.1% | −26.0% | −8.8% | −9.0% | −11.1% | −10.0% | −24.8% | −5.2% | −8.1% | −5.0% | 0.9% | 2.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 4.7% | 4.3% | −4.7% | −6.3% | 17.8% | −4.7% | −24.8% | 20.8% | −152.5% | 224.2% | 11.3% | 12.7% | 9.1% | 9.2% |
| Return on equity | −2.2% | −7.5% | −9.1% | −8.5% | −3.6% | −4.0% | −9.1% | −4.0% | −10.5% | −2.1% | −3.5% | −2.4% | 0.5% | 1.2% |
| Return on assets | — | −6.7% | −7.9% | −7.0% | −3.0% | −3.2% | −5.9% | −2.4% | −5.8% | −1.2% | −2.4% | −1.8% | 0.4% | 1.0% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.50 | 0.34 | 0.27 | 0.34 | 0.35 | 0.53 | 0.24 | 0.23 | 0.23 | 0.29 | 0.36 | 0.45 | 0.51 |
| Current ratio | — | 8.16 | 7.14 | 5.99 | 7.11 | 6.58 | 3.81 | 5.46 | 1.98 | 13.34 | 3.24 | 2.81 | 3.13 | 1.92 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | — | 8.6% | 14.5% | 14.5% | 26.0% | 66.2% | 48.2% | 26.8% | 37.9% | 37.6% | 11.6% | 7.5% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 0.8x | 1.9x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 0.7x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −1.0% | — | — | — | 8.0% | 8.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 24.6% | 26.0% | 28.6% | 30.2% | 29.7% | 30.8% | 12.8% | 20.0% | 19.7% | 25.4% | 28.8% | 26.2% | 23.5% | 21.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 11.2% | 9.7% | 8.2% | 7.3% | 6.2% | 5.0% | 2.4% | 5.2% | 3.5% | 5.9% | 6.9% | 6.4% | 5.1% | 4.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | 469.1% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | 21.6% | 193.6% | 105.6% | 285.1% | 424.8% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 75.9% | 75.8% | 76.8% | 74.7% | 72.6% | 72.8% | 73.3% | 72.8% |
| Operating margin | −7.7% | −12.5% | −1.5% | −1.7% | −0.4% | −1.7% | 5.1% | −1.3% |
| Net margin | −3.4% | −9.4% | 1.3% | 0.3% | 1.5% | 0.5% | 6.5% | −0.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 23.8% | 15.9% | 11.4% | 7.6% | 10.8% | 6.7% | 23.4% | −3.2% |
| Current ratio | 3.13 | 2.81 | 2.46 | 3.34 | 3.63 | 3.13 | 2.29 | 1.92 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 25.0% | 26.9% | 24.9% | 23.4% | 22.3% | 23.5% | 21.2% | 20.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.7bn of assets due within a year against $906m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.7bn short-term assets against $91m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $12m against $18m of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Zillow Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 8 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 7.3% of total assets over 6 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 78.3%, moving by 3.2 percentage points (standard deviation) across 6 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -7.4%; its worst year was -14.1%.
- Cash conversion 13 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 9.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 8 / 20
The diluted share count fell 4.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 12.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (58 before it).
Compare with peers
More: Real Estate Services stocks compared, Real Estate sector, rankings of US companies