Nephros Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Nephros Inc had return on equity of 12.7%, an operating margin of 6.1%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 4.06. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 38.2% | 39.2% | 59.2% | 48.4% | 68.6% | 54.5% | 55.8% | 60.2% | 56.3% | 58.9% | 57.4% | 55.1% | 47.4% | 59.0% | 61.6% | 61.9% | 61.3% |
| Operating margin | −64.3% | −104.3% | −184.4% | −190.6% | −152.7% | −176.0% | −123.7% | −58.4% | −53.0% | −30.5% | −49.9% | −31.8% | −43.5% | −11.2% | 0.0% | 6.1% | 7.9% |
| Net margin | 132.1% | −316.1% | −366.5% | 76.0% | −421.7% | −158.8% | −130.7% | −21.2% | −59.8% | −30.8% | −52.9% | −37.8% | −74.0% | −11.1% | 0.5% | 6.4% | 8.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −45.0% | — | −86.1% | −205.9% | — | −196.9% | −93.0% | — | — | −22.2% | −83.4% | −14.2% | −33.8% | 5.3% | −3.9% | 8.5% | −3.4% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −61.8% | −118.4% | −75.0% | −52.6% | −31.9% | −85.4% | −22.6% | 0.9% | 12.7% | 15.7% |
| Return on assets | 244.0% | −250.6% | −176.1% | 41.2% | −235.6% | −84.2% | −91.2% | −21.1% | −43.8% | −28.7% | −30.0% | −21.4% | −51.5% | −13.8% | 0.6% | 9.6% | 11.8% |
| Asset turnover | 1.85 | 0.79 | 0.48 | 0.54 | 0.56 | 0.53 | 0.70 | 0.99 | 0.73 | 0.93 | 0.57 | 0.57 | 0.70 | 1.25 | 1.23 | 1.51 | 1.41 |
| Current ratio | 1.02 | 2.72 | 0.41 | 0.28 | 1.35 | 2.57 | 1.41 | 2.04 | 3.08 | 3.42 | 11.44 | 5.70 | 5.85 | 3.98 | 5.31 | 4.06 | 4.07 |
| Debt to equity | 370.4% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | 125.6% | 85.4% | 53.4% | 29.6% | 4.7% | 2.9% | 1.3% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 6.0x | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 16.9% | 1.0% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 12.3% | 20.4% | 35.0% | 49.8% | 44.7% | 42.5% | 46.5% | 26.3% | 27.1% | 29.9% | 32.2% | 14.7% | 12.6% | 6.1% | 6.4% | 7.1% | 7.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 85.8% | 119.1% | 200.3% | 176.4% | 164.2% | 177.1% | 123.0% | 86.6% | 79.4% | 59.2% | 75.5% | 70.4% | 76.1% | 62.6% | 54.2% | 47.9% | 45.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.0% | — | 0.4% | 0.0% | — | 0.7% | 1.9% | — | — | 0.1% | 2.8% | 0.4% | 1.4% | 0.5% | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −34.1% | — | — | −271.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −739.2% | 134.0% | −40.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 61.1% | 64.0% | 64.7% | 63.2% | 61.2% | 58.4% | 57.4% | 66.9% |
| Operating margin | 5.9% | 8.2% | 11.6% | 5.6% | 6.6% | 0.4% | 1.9% | 20.2% |
| Net margin | 5.2% | 9.0% | 11.4% | 5.4% | 7.1% | 1.3% | 2.7% | 19.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −17.7% | 33.7% | — | 22.5% | 2.1% | 3.9% | −32.1% | 11.3% |
| Current ratio | 6.95 | 5.31 | 5.92 | 5.41 | 4.34 | 4.06 | 4.55 | 4.07 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 5.3% | 6.5% | 6.0% | 7.0% | 7.1% | 8.4% | 6.6% | 6.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 48.9% | 48.4% | 46.2% | 49.8% | 46.8% | 49.0% | 48.4% | 40.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $14m of assets due within a year against $3m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $14m short-term assets against $458,000 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Nephros's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -12.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 58.3%, moving by 3.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -36.3%; its worst year was -90.7%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 1 of 6 years, at a median -5.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 2 / 20
The diluted share count rose 15.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 10.5% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Jin Medical International Ltd. statistics
- Vivos Therapeutics, Inc. statistics
- Sonoma Pharmaceuticals, Inc. statistics
- Baird Medical Investment Holdings Ltd statistics
- Sensus Healthcare, Inc. statistics
Head to head: NEPH vs ZJYLNEPH vs VVOSNEPH vs SNOABDMD vs NEPH
More: Health Care Equipment stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies