Personalis, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Personalis, Inc. had return on equity of -35.0%, an operating margin of -126.4%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 6.76. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | −24.9% | 31.3% | 33.9% | 25.6% | 37.0% | 20.5% | 24.8% | 31.7% | 22.7% | 12.7% |
| Operating margin | −236.0% | −36.5% | −34.4% | −53.6% | −76.4% | −177.6% | −149.6% | −80.7% | −126.4% | −164.1% |
| Net margin | −251.2% | −52.6% | −38.5% | −52.5% | −76.3% | −174.2% | −147.4% | −96.1% | −116.7% | −153.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −51.8% | −6.0% | −40.6% | −58.4% | −95.8% | −184.7% | −91.4% | −55.3% | −114.1% | −144.9% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −27.4% | −25.8% | −42.9% | −62.3% | −48.9% | −35.0% | −43.2% |
| Return on assets | — | −47.7% | −25.2% | −20.5% | −20.3% | −32.9% | −41.8% | −32.8% | −26.9% | −33.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.91 | 0.66 | 0.39 | 0.27 | 0.19 | 0.28 | 0.34 | 0.23 | 0.22 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.51 | 2.79 | 5.43 | 10.16 | 6.03 | 3.11 | 6.52 | 6.76 | 5.28 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 105.6% | 37.9% | 34.4% | 36.3% | 57.7% | 99.8% | 88.2% | 57.8% | 72.2% | 80.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 105.4% | 29.8% | 33.9% | 42.8% | 55.8% | 98.3% | 67.7% | 54.6% | 76.9% | 96.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 54.9% | 20.8% | 12.9% | 4.1% | 13.0% | 76.7% | 14.8% | 1.9% | 6.5% | 12.5% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 34.0% | 27.1% | 35.0% | 27.6% | 13.2% | 11.0% | 1.8% | 21.2% |
| Operating margin | −55.9% | −107.8% | −85.9% | −126.7% | −160.7% | −145.7% | −207.9% | −150.2% |
| Net margin | −152.0% | −97.8% | −76.4% | −116.6% | −149.4% | −137.3% | −194.1% | −141.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −25.1% | −53.8% | −99.4% | −76.9% | −161.6% | −128.7% | −165.9% | −132.2% |
| Current ratio | 4.68 | 6.52 | 6.91 | 6.09 | 4.82 | 6.76 | 6.61 | 5.28 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 45.4% | 68.4% | 61.3% | 72.0% | 84.0% | 75.4% | 94.0% | 73.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 44.5% | 66.5% | 59.5% | 82.4% | 89.9% | 81.3% | 115.7% | 98.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $245m of assets due within a year against $46m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $245m short-term assets against $31m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$114m against $213,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Personalis's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 8 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -12.2% of total assets over 7 years.
- Pricing power 6 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 29.9%, moving by 6.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -101.4%; its worst year was -170.6%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 8 years, at a median -79.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 143.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 14.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (16 before it).
Compare with peers
- Exagen Inc. statistics
- Burning Rock Biotech Ltd statistics
- Codexis, Inc. statistics
- 908 Devices Inc. statistics
- Precipio, Inc. statistics
Head to head: PSNL vs XGNBNR vs PSNLCDXS vs PSNLMASS vs PSNL
More: Life Sciences Tools & Services stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies