Rapid7, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Rapid7, Inc. had return on equity of 27.1%, an operating margin of 1.3%, debt equal to 576.7% of equity and a current ratio of 1.28. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 78.5% | 76.0% | 73.5% | 74.8% | 71.7% | 70.9% | 72.1% | 70.5% | 68.4% | 68.7% | 70.2% | 70.3% | 70.3% | 69.3% |
| Operating margin | −31.0% | −37.9% | −42.1% | −31.2% | −24.3% | −21.7% | −14.1% | −18.0% | −22.4% | −16.3% | −10.8% | 4.2% | 1.3% | 1.2% |
| Net margin | −31.4% | −42.4% | −45.1% | −31.1% | −22.6% | −22.8% | −16.5% | −24.0% | −27.3% | −18.2% | −19.6% | 3.0% | 2.7% | 2.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −5.6% | −13.6% | −5.5% | 2.9% | 4.2% | −2.8% | −9.4% | −2.2% | 8.4% | 8.4% | 12.8% | 19.9% | 17.0% | 16.9% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −89.0% | −98.8% | −80.9% | −63.2% | −127.8% | — | — | — | — | 27.1% | 11.5% |
| Return on assets | — | −37.5% | −31.4% | −20.7% | −16.4% | −12.8% | −8.8% | −12.5% | −13.2% | −9.4% | −10.7% | 1.6% | 1.4% | 1.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.88 | 0.70 | 0.66 | 0.72 | 0.56 | 0.53 | 0.52 | 0.48 | 0.52 | 0.54 | 0.53 | 0.51 | 0.49 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.89 | 1.18 | 0.89 | 0.91 | 1.51 | 1.27 | 1.34 | 0.92 | 0.96 | 1.11 | 1.25 | 1.28 | 0.80 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 25.2% | 0.0% | — | 200.1% | 222.7% | 529.2% | — | — | — | >999% | 576.7% | 454.6% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 3.2x | 1.1x | 1.0x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 38.4% | 22.5% | 11.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 35.7% | 33.3% | 35.1% | 30.5% | 25.3% | 27.8% | 24.3% | 26.4% | 30.0% | 27.7% | 22.9% | 20.5% | 22.2% | 22.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.6% | 9.2% | 3.7% | 2.9% | 2.4% | 5.2% | 9.0% | 3.4% | 1.7% | 3.0% | 0.6% | 0.4% | 0.9% | 1.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 659.1% | 625.4% | 719.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 70.6% | 69.5% | 71.7% | 70.6% | 70.2% | 68.9% | 69.1% | 68.9% |
| Operating margin | 6.0% | 3.4% | −0.0% | 1.6% | 2.7% | 1.0% | −0.3% | 1.4% |
| Net margin | 7.2% | 1.0% | 1.0% | 3.9% | 4.5% | 1.4% | 0.5% | 2.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 19.9% | 28.9% | 13.5% | 21.8% | 16.0% | 16.8% | 18.0% | 17.0% |
| Current ratio | 1.17 | 1.25 | 1.24 | 1.36 | 1.19 | 1.28 | 0.78 | 0.80 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 21.0% | 21.4% | 22.8% | 22.0% | 21.5% | 22.4% | 23.1% | 22.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $931m of assets due within a year against $1.2bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $931m short-term assets against $387m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $11m against $10m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Rapid7's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -8.2% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 70.5%, moving by 1.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -15.9%; its worst year was -25.9%.
- Cash conversion 11 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 5.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 33.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 12.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (41 before it).
Compare with peers
- Q2 Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Bandwidth Inc. statistics
- Sprinklr, Inc. statistics
- Braze, Inc. statistics
- Liveramp Holdings, Inc. statistics
Head to head: QTWO vs RPDBAND vs RPDCXM vs RPD
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies