Socket Mobile, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Socket Mobile, Inc. had return on equity of -128.2%, an operating margin of -21.3%, debt equal to 9.3% of equity and a current ratio of 1.02. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 43.1% | 40.0% | 41.4% | 37.2% | 40.2% | 43.6% | 48.6% | 50.2% | 53.5% | 51.4% | 52.5% | 53.1% | 53.6% | 48.8% | 49.7% | 50.4% | 49.7% | 49.1% |
| Operating margin | −48.6% | −27.5% | −7.3% | −22.2% | −0.8% | 5.5% | 11.6% | 12.3% | 11.4% | −3.6% | 3.1% | −27.7% | 11.6% | −2.1% | −18.3% | −13.1% | −21.3% | −26.1% |
| Net margin | −46.1% | −29.5% | −13.8% | −24.3% | −4.0% | 2.5% | 9.9% | 58.4% | −6.7% | −3.5% | 1.5% | −20.9% | 19.3% | 0.4% | −11.3% | −12.0% | −95.4% | −107.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 2.5% | −3.7% | −5.8% | −5.0% | −1.6% | −0.7% | 5.2% | 2.8% | 9.2% | 2.0% | 1.4% | 1.7% | 6.3% | −6.1% | −12.4% | −7.0% | −11.9% | −8.5% |
| Return on equity | −146.4% | −96.0% | −80.5% | −183.5% | — | 74.4% | 83.1% | 124.5% | −8.6% | −3.9% | 2.2% | −26.3% | 28.6% | 0.4% | −9.7% | −11.9% | −128.2% | — |
| Return on assets | — | −43.9% | −24.9% | −36.0% | −7.7% | 5.2% | 20.1% | 77.7% | −6.9% | −3.0% | 1.5% | −18.7% | 21.7% | 0.3% | −6.7% | −8.0% | −68.8% | −110.7% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.49 | 1.80 | 1.48 | 1.95 | 2.07 | 2.04 | 1.33 | 1.03 | 0.86 | 1.01 | 0.90 | 1.13 | 0.78 | 0.59 | 0.67 | 0.72 | 1.03 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.70 | 0.79 | 0.42 | 0.45 | 0.56 | 0.86 | 1.37 | 3.81 | 1.32 | 1.38 | 1.91 | 2.67 | 2.57 | 1.65 | 1.39 | 1.02 | 0.85 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 35.5% | 182.9% | >999% | 152.5% | 22.5% | 5.0% | 0.2% | 10.7% | 10.2% | 4.9% | 10.1% | 2.0% | — | 0.8% | 9.3% | 14.7% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 4.5x | 7.6x | 19.5x | 30.4x | n/m | 6.0x | n/m | 13.6x | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 17.1% | 18.2% | 15.8% | 20.0% | 14.5% | 13.7% | 12.6% | 13.9% | 16.3% | 22.1% | 20.2% | 20.0% | 17.1% | 20.5% | 28.4% | 25.2% | 28.9% | 30.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | −1.7% | −1.1% | −1.0% | −1.7% | 1.0% | 1.0% | 2.1% | 1.5% | 1.9% | 2.6% | 3.1% | 3.4% | 3.0% | 5.6% | 12.7% | 4.2% | 3.6% | 3.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | −26.4% | 52.9% | 4.7% | — | — | 97.1% | — | 32.5% | <−999% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | — | 3.2% | 0.2% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 49.0% | 51.0% | 50.4% | 49.9% | 47.7% | 50.2% | 51.3% | 46.4% |
| Operating margin | −26.6% | −8.5% | −22.5% | −16.8% | −34.1% | −14.9% | −20.5% | −39.4% |
| Net margin | −28.8% | 0.8% | −25.1% | −19.6% | −38.6% | −287.5% | −24.3% | −44.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −5.0% | −6.4% | −19.8% | −14.9% | −19.0% | 4.8% | −22.2% | 1.5% |
| Current ratio | 1.41 | 1.39 | 1.27 | 1.20 | 1.10 | 1.02 | 0.96 | 0.85 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 30.0% | 23.2% | 28.5% | 27.2% | 33.0% | 27.5% | 29.5% | 34.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $7m of assets due within a year against $9m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $7m short-term assets against $1m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$4m against −$572,254 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Socket Mobile's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -4.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 51.6%, moving by 1.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -7.8%; its worst year was -26.1%.
- Cash conversion 5 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 5 of 10 years, at a median 0.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 10 / 20
The diluted share count rose 14.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (43 before it).
Compare with peers
- Moving Image Technologies Inc. statistics
- Inve Technologies, Inc. statistics
- Ebang International Holdings Inc. statistics
- Intchains Group Ltd statistics
- ONE Stop Systems, Inc. statistics
Head to head: MITQ vs SCKTINVE vs SCKTEBON vs SCKT
More: Technology Hardware, Storage & Peripherals stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies