Tenable Holdings, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Tenable Holdings, Inc. had return on equity of -9.9% and a net margin of -3.6%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | −29.9% | −21.9% | −27.5% | −27.9% | −9.7% | −8.6% | −13.5% | −9.8% | −4.0% | −3.6% | 0.6% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −89.7% | −34.2% | −25.5% | −37.9% | −25.4% | −9.7% | −9.9% | 2.6% |
| Return on assets | — | −25.0% | −23.5% | −19.4% | −6.8% | −4.8% | −6.9% | −5.1% | −2.2% | −2.1% | 0.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 32.2% | 30.7% | 28.7% | 24.6% | 23.1% | 21.5% | 21.0% | 19.2% | 20.2% | 22.4% | 21.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $609m of assets due within a year against $775m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $609m short-term assets against $600m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $37m against $27m of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Tenable Holdings's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 9 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 16 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 12.5% of total assets over 7 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 78.9%, moving by 2.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -7.7%; its worst year was -27.6%.
- Cash conversion 15 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 6 of 9 years, at a median 17.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 2 / 20
The diluted share count rose 13.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 16.2% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (63 before it).
Compare with peers
- Gitlab Inc. statistics
- Dlocal Ltd statistics
- Sentinelone, Inc. statistics
- Sailpoint, Inc. statistics
- Commvault Systems Inc statistics
Head to head: GTLB vs TENBDLO vs TENBS vs TENB
More: Systems Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies