Transmedics Group, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Transmedics Group, Inc. had return on equity of 54.2%, an operating margin of 17.9%, debt equal to 97.8% of equity and a current ratio of 7.14. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 44.1% | 58.7% | 64.9% | 69.9% | 69.8% | 63.8% | 59.4% | 59.9% | 58.7% |
| Operating margin | −155.5% | −125.4% | −102.9% | −130.3% | −33.6% | −11.9% | 8.5% | 17.9% | 12.2% |
| Net margin | −182.5% | −142.1% | −112.1% | −146.1% | −38.8% | −10.4% | 8.0% | 31.4% | 22.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −202.8% | −137.5% | −119.8% | −107.0% | −61.8% | −68.2% | −18.3% | 22.1% | 11.8% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −36.3% | −51.5% | −28.4% | −15.4% | 19.4% | 54.2% | 30.6% |
| Return on assets | −56.4% | −45.5% | −22.3% | −30.8% | −17.6% | −5.1% | 4.7% | 20.3% | 12.0% |
| Asset turnover | 0.31 | 0.32 | 0.20 | 0.21 | 0.45 | 0.49 | 0.58 | 0.65 | 0.53 |
| Current ratio | 2.77 | 6.21 | 12.36 | 5.11 | 10.66 | 9.30 | 8.30 | 7.14 | 6.63 |
| Debt to equity | — | 62.5% | 33.7% | 51.9% | 32.0% | 325.9% | 196.8% | 97.8% | 91.5% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.6x | 7.9x | 3.8x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.9% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 104.9% | 84.2% | 73.4% | 73.7% | 28.7% | 14.9% | 12.7% | 11.4% | 13.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 94.6% | 100.0% | 94.3% | 126.5% | 74.8% | 49.5% | 38.2% | 30.6% | 32.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.2% | 0.7% | 1.8% | 11.6% | 12.7% | 62.8% | 29.4% | 9.8% | 10.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | −228.2% | 70.2% | 52.1% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 55.9% | 59.2% | 61.5% | 61.4% | 58.8% | 58.1% | 58.2% | 59.6% |
| Operating margin | 3.6% | 7.1% | 19.1% | 23.2% | 16.2% | 13.2% | 7.6% | 12.5% |
| Net margin | 3.9% | 5.6% | 17.9% | 22.2% | 16.9% | 65.6% | 4.2% | 7.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −38.0% | 5.0% | −20.8% | 52.4% | 43.1% | 11.8% | −7.0% | 5.4% |
| Current ratio | 8.20 | 8.30 | 9.10 | 9.86 | 7.69 | 7.14 | 6.74 | 6.63 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | — | 1.4% | 2.1% | 3.0% | 3.9% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 13.1% | 13.5% | 12.0% | 10.1% | 10.6% | 12.9% | 14.3% | 16.7% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 39.2% | 38.6% | 30.4% | 28.0% | 32.0% | 32.0% | 36.2% | 30.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $651m of assets due within a year against $98m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $651m short-term assets against $848m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $82m against $21m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Transmedics Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 8 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -4.4% of total assets over 7 years.
- Pricing power 16 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 60.8%, moving by 5.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -46.1%; its worst year was -133.7%.
- Cash conversion 3 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 7 years, at a median -54.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 4 / 20
The diluted share count rose 45.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 7.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Glaukos Corp statistics
- Novocure Ltd statistics
- Bioventus Inc. statistics
- Atricure, Inc. statistics
- Myriad Genetics Inc statistics
Head to head: GKOS vs TMDXNVCR vs TMDXBVS vs TMDXATRC vs TMDX
More: Health Care Equipment stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies