Unifirst Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, Unifirst Corp had return on equity of 5.0% and a net margin of 4.3%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Aug 2010 | 2011Aug 2011 | 2012Aug 2012 | 2013Aug 2013 | 2014Aug 2014 | 2015Aug 2015 | 2016Aug 2016 | 2017Aug 2017 | 2018Aug 2018 | 2019Aug 2019 | 2020Aug 2020 | 2021Aug 2021 | 2022Aug 2022 | 2023Aug 2023 | 2024Aug 2024 | 2025Aug 2025 | 2026Aug 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 7.4% | 6.7% | 7.6% | 8.6% | 8.6% | 8.5% | 8.5% | 4.4% | 9.7% | 9.9% | 7.5% | 8.3% | 5.2% | 4.6% | 6.0% | 6.1% | 4.3% |
| Return on equity | 10.8% | 10.2% | 11.2% | 12.2% | 11.2% | 10.5% | 9.6% | 5.0% | 11.1% | 11.4% | 8.0% | 8.4% | 5.5% | 5.3% | 7.1% | 6.9% | 5.0% |
| Return on assets | 7.0% | 6.8% | 8.0% | 8.9% | 8.6% | 8.4% | 7.7% | 4.0% | 8.8% | 9.1% | 6.4% | 6.6% | 4.3% | 4.1% | 5.5% | 5.4% | 3.9% |
| Effective tax rate | 37.8% | 36.6% | 37.0% | 37.8% | 38.6% | 38.2% | 38.5% | 39.0% | 12.5% | 24.7% | 23.7% | 23.2% | 23.0% | 25.3% | 23.2% | 24.1% | 22.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 20.8% | 20.6% | 19.2% | 19.4% | 19.5% | 20.2% | 19.4% | 21.5% | 21.3% | 18.5% | 20.1% | 21.0% | 22.6% | 22.3% | 21.5% | 23.2% | 25.6% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 3.6% | 3.7% | 3.0% | 2.4% | 2.4% | 2.3% | 2.3% | 4.1% | 2.6% | 4.6% | 11.6% | 12.0% | 20.1% | 21.3% | 16.0% | 16.6% | 23.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $968m of assets due within a year against $308m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $968m short-term assets against $333m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Unifirst's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 16 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 12.3% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 13 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 36.6%, moving by 1.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 11 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 7.6%; its worst year was 5.4%.
- Cash conversion 12 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 5.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 18 / 20
The diluted share count fell 4.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (70 before it).
Compare with peers
- Corecivic, Inc. statistics
- Vestis Corp statistics
- Willscot Holdings Corp statistics
- GEO Group Inc statistics
- Openlane, Inc. statistics
Head to head: CXW vs UNFUNF vs VSTSUNF vs WSCGEO vs UNF
More: Diversified Support Services stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies