Universe Pharmaceuticals Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Universe Pharmaceuticals Inc had return on equity of -7.2%, an operating margin of -16.3%, debt equal to 16.5% of equity and a current ratio of 4.07. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2019Sept 2019 | 2020Sept 2020 | 2021Sept 2021 | 2022Sept 2022 | 2023Sept 2023 | 2024Sept 2024 | 2025Sept 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 40.3% | 45.9% | 52.8% | 54.5% | 31.9% | 26.4% | 35.3% |
| Operating margin | 29.4% | 33.4% | 28.3% | −17.5% | −12.3% | −34.8% | −16.3% |
| Net margin | 22.7% | 24.6% | 23.6% | −19.7% | −20.4% | −37.9% | −20.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 39.5% | 19.7% | −5.2% | −3.5% | 3.3% | −42.2% | −29.8% |
| Return on equity | 61.0% | 45.5% | 33.4% | −0.0% | −20.8% | −23.8% | −7.2% |
| Return on assets | — | 26.2% | 22.9% | −12.2% | <−999% | −25.7% | −5.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.07 | 0.97 | 0.62 | 638.11 | 0.68 | 0.26 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.91 | 4.50 | 3.17 | 1.84 | 2.54 | 4.07 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 12.7% | 9.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 12.9% | 16.5% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 75.4x | 82.8x | 133.8x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 21.8% | 25.2% | 17.2% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.9% | 1.9% | 11.4% | 19.0% | 15.0% | 13.2% | 3.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.9% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0.9% | 1.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 173.7% | 80.2% | −22.1% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 211.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 122.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $53.6bn of assets due within a year against $13.2bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $53.6bn short-term assets against $0 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$2.9bn against $289m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Viatris statistics
- Haleon plc statistics
- Bausch Health Companies Inc. statistics
- Zoetis statistics
- GSK plc statistics
Head to head: UPC vs VTRSHLN vs UPCBHC vs UPC
More: Pharmaceuticals stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies