United Therapeutics Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, United Therapeutics Corp had return on equity of 19.7%, an operating margin of 46.9% and a current ratio of 6.60. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 88.3% | 88.4% | 87.8% | 85.9% | 87.4% | 89.5% | — | 95.5% | 93.9% | 87.8% | 91.9% | 92.7% | 92.7% | 92.2% | 88.9% | 89.2% | 87.9% | 86.1% |
| Operating margin | 7.2% | 28.9% | 42.8% | 46.0% | 26.2% | 41.8% | 47.7% | 66.4% | 47.2% | 49.5% | −12.9% | 40.0% | 33.0% | 50.6% | 50.9% | 47.9% | 46.9% | 44.4% |
| Net margin | 5.4% | 17.9% | 29.3% | 33.2% | 15.6% | 26.4% | 44.5% | 44.6% | 24.2% | 36.2% | −7.2% | 34.7% | 28.2% | 37.6% | 42.3% | 41.5% | 41.9% | 41.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 1.2% | 32.5% | 28.8% | 23.1% | 35.2% | 23.9% | 22.7% | 37.9% | 22.5% | 36.5% | −20.0% | 46.9% | 28.3% | 34.3% | 32.1% | 37.6% | 32.7% | 34.6% |
| Return on equity | 3.0% | 13.8% | 23.8% | 30.0% | 14.9% | 27.2% | 46.0% | 41.5% | 21.1% | 24.1% | −3.8% | 16.7% | 12.9% | 16.6% | 18.3% | 19.2% | 19.7% | 19.4% |
| Return on assets | 1.9% | 8.5% | 14.8% | 19.4% | 9.4% | 17.1% | 32.0% | 31.6% | 16.1% | 18.8% | −2.9% | 12.1% | 9.7% | 13.0% | 14.9% | 16.4% | 17.5% | 17.4% |
| Asset turnover | 0.34 | 0.48 | 0.50 | 0.58 | 0.60 | 0.65 | 0.72 | 0.71 | 0.66 | 0.52 | 0.40 | 0.35 | 0.34 | 0.35 | 0.35 | 0.40 | 0.42 | 0.42 |
| Current ratio | 0.98 | 1.78 | 2.65 | 3.78 | 1.33 | 1.90 | 2.89 | 4.29 | 3.26 | 6.39 | 4.03 | 6.70 | 7.61 | 9.85 | 4.41 | 5.25 | 6.60 | 5.73 |
| Debt to equity | 33.7% | 34.5% | 20.5% | 19.0% | 22.7% | — | 0.3% | 0.0% | 23.8% | 17.9% | 30.6% | 23.6% | 20.2% | 16.7% | 11.7% | 4.7% | — | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 2.0x | 8.7x | 14.9x | 25.3x | 16.2x | 30.6x | 148.7x | — | 90.5x | 57.9x | n/m | 25.3x | 29.9x | 30.2x | 20.0x | 32.1x | 76.5x | 116.8x |
| Effective tax rate | −3.7% | 28.3% | 27.4% | 30.9% | 37.4% | 35.2% | 37.6% | 32.7% | 45.7% | 22.4% | — | 19.4% | 19.9% | 23.5% | 22.7% | 22.3% | 22.1% | 16.7% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 33.5% | 27.9% | 24.2% | 18.9% | 26.8% | 18.8% | 16.7% | 9.2% | 15.3% | 22.0% | 81.6% | 24.1% | 32.0% | 16.7% | 17.5% | 16.7% | 17.3% | 17.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 47.9% | 31.8% | 21.1% | 22.0% | 35.3% | 29.6% | 30.9% | 19.8% | 19.1% | 16.3% | — | — | 27.7% | 24.9% | 20.5% | 24.7% | 23.7% | 24.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 26.6% | 3.1% | 4.8% | 12.2% | 2.9% | 3.7% | 3.4% | 2.4% | 5.0% | 11.3% | 5.8% | 4.0% | 7.2% | 7.2% | 9.9% | 8.6% | 16.4% | 18.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 22.2% | 182.1% | 98.3% | 69.5% | 225.3% | 90.5% | 51.1% | 84.9% | 92.8% | 100.8% | — | 135.3% | 100.3% | 91.3% | 75.9% | 90.4% | 78.0% | 83.4% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | 99.0% | 88.8% | 10.8% | 156.9% | 118.5% | 82.6% | 64.4% | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 92.5% | 96.1% | 228.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 88.9% | 89.7% | 88.4% | 89.0% | 87.4% | 86.9% | 82.9% | 87.3% |
| Operating margin | 45.8% | 48.6% | 48.2% | 45.6% | 48.6% | 45.1% | 41.7% | 42.2% |
| Net margin | 41.3% | 40.9% | 40.6% | 38.8% | 42.4% | 46.1% | 35.2% | 42.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 40.2% | 34.6% | 48.6% | 16.2% | 44.0% | 21.9% | 46.4% | 26.2% |
| Current ratio | 4.58 | 5.25 | 5.46 | 7.26 | 6.40 | 6.60 | 4.79 | 5.73 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 13.8% | 18.2% | 18.8% | 16.8% | 15.9% | 17.7% | 17.7% | 18.7% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 29.3% | 22.9% | 21.4% | 26.6% | 22.8% | 24.1% | 23.6% | 26.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $3.5bn of assets due within a year against $608m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $3.5bn short-term assets against $212m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $1.4bn against $12m of interest.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard United Therapeutics's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 28.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 91.0%, moving by 3.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 47.0%; its worst year was -10.0%.
- Cash conversion 19 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 34.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 13 / 20
The diluted share count rose 2.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 4.7% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (80 before it).
Compare with peers
- Biontech SE statistics
- Biomarin Pharmaceutical Inc statistics
- Natera, Inc. statistics
- Neurocrine Biosciences Inc statistics
- Exelixis, Inc. statistics
Head to head: BNTX vs UTHRBMRN vs UTHRNTRA vs UTHREXEL vs UTHR
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies