Natera, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Natera, Inc. had return on equity of -14.3%, an operating margin of -13.4%, debt equal to 4.7% of equity and a current ratio of 3.39. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | 38.0% | 35.8% | 38.6% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | −45.8% | 0.4% | −31.4% | −46.6% | −64.2% | −44.5% | −38.5% | −55.3% | −74.8% | −66.0% | −41.2% | −13.1% | −13.4% | −10.7% |
| Net margin | −67.3% | −3.2% | −36.9% | −46.2% | −65.2% | −49.7% | −41.3% | −58.8% | −75.4% | −66.8% | −40.2% | −11.2% | −9.0% | −7.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −58.7% | 0.3% | −24.0% | −44.8% | −51.1% | −28.9% | −22.6% | −51.7% | −60.2% | −58.4% | −26.4% | 4.1% | 4.7% | 3.1% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −54.2% | −162.9% | — | −80.3% | −60.1% | −82.8% | −80.6% | −59.1% | −19.4% | −14.3% | −10.9% |
| Return on assets | — | −4.2% | −36.1% | −42.2% | −64.7% | −53.1% | −29.3% | −30.3% | −43.5% | −41.6% | −30.7% | −12.3% | −10.3% | −7.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.29 | 0.98 | 0.91 | 0.99 | 1.07 | 0.71 | 0.52 | 0.58 | 0.62 | 0.76 | 1.09 | 1.14 | 1.07 |
| Current ratio | — | 3.56 | 3.12 | 1.81 | 1.71 | 2.11 | 2.91 | 4.33 | 4.99 | 3.90 | 4.10 | 4.00 | 3.39 | 3.00 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 29.5% | 34.6% | 197.2% | 155.9% | 26.9% | 15.4% | 50.6% | 51.3% | 47.5% | 6.7% | 4.7% | 4.4% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | 0.2x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 20.9% | 10.9% | 14.6% | 19.3% | 23.7% | 19.9% | 17.0% | 25.6% | 42.2% | 38.6% | 29.6% | 23.8% | 27.1% | 29.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 57.3% | 39.5% | 57.6% | 62.7% | 73.6% | 60.1% | 68.2% | 77.7% | 81.7% | 71.8% | 57.1% | 49.6% | 51.0% | 46.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 14.9% | 6.3% | 4.1% | 10.7% | 4.7% | 1.5% | 1.6% | 5.0% | 6.6% | 5.8% | 3.6% | 3.9% | 4.6% | 5.3% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −8.9% | −13.6% | −15.8% | −20.2% | −16.5% | −3.4% | −13.4% | −10.1% |
| Net margin | −7.2% | −11.3% | −13.3% | −18.5% | −14.8% | 7.1% | −12.2% | −8.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 8.1% | 7.3% | 4.5% | 2.1% | 6.2% | 5.7% | 2.6% | −1.1% |
| Current ratio | 4.39 | 4.00 | 3.87 | 3.72 | 3.27 | 3.39 | 2.96 | 3.00 |
| Debt to equity | 9.2% | 6.7% | 6.5% | 6.4% | 6.4% | 4.7% | 4.5% | 4.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 22.0% | 27.2% | 25.7% | 26.8% | 29.3% | 26.3% | 30.2% | 30.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 48.7% | 49.3% | 53.2% | 56.8% | 52.1% | 43.8% | 47.1% | 43.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.7bn of assets due within a year against $553m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.7bn short-term assets against $283m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$290m against $4m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Natera's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -35.2% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 10 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 39.1%, moving by 5.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 6 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -48.9%; its worst year was -78.8%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 10 years, at a median -41.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 64.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 15.0% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (22 before it).
Compare with peers
- Exelixis, Inc. statistics
- United Therapeutics Corp statistics
- Biontech SE statistics
- Moderna statistics
- Biomarin Pharmaceutical Inc statistics
Head to head: EXEL vs NTRANTRA vs UTHRBNTX vs NTRAMRNA vs NTRA
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies