Biontech SE key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Biontech SE had return on equity of -6.0%, an operating margin of -49.0%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 7.54. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 84.9% | 89.3% | 84.0% | 87.7% | 84.7% | 82.7% | 84.3% | 80.3% | 77.6% |
| Operating margin | −99.5% | −42.2% | −167.1% | −17.1% | 80.5% | 73.0% | 18.1% | −47.8% | −49.0% |
| Net margin | −139.1% | −37.6% | −164.9% | 3.2% | 54.2% | 54.5% | 24.4% | −24.2% | −39.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −124.8% | −69.6% | −218.3% | −16.5% | 4.0% | 76.5% | 134.1% | −2.9% | 9.8% |
| Return on equity | — | −46.0% | −46.7% | 1.6% | 160.9% | 56.9% | 4.6% | −3.4% | −6.0% |
| Return on assets | — | −7.6% | −24.4% | 0.9% | 117.3% | 46.4% | 4.0% | −3.0% | −5.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.20 | 0.15 | 0.29 | 2.16 | 0.85 | 0.16 | 0.12 | 0.13 |
| Current ratio | — | 3.56 | 4.05 | 2.75 | 4.33 | 7.43 | 9.43 | 7.45 | 7.54 |
| Debt to equity | — | 0.0% | 15.0% | 17.5% | 2.5% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — | — | 92.1x | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | 31.6% | 27.2% | 21.6% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 138.8% | 112.1% | 208.6% | 133.7% | 5.0% | 8.9% | 46.7% | 81.9% | 73.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 39.5% | 23.4% | 35.5% | 13.7% | 0.7% | 1.9% | 6.5% | 10.4% | 6.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | −523.0% | 7.4% | 140.4% | 550.6% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 5.1% | 0.0% | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 3.7% | 0.0% | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $18.9bn of assets due within a year against $2.5bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $18.9bn short-term assets against $730m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$1.6bn against $16m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- United Therapeutics Corp statistics
- Biomarin Pharmaceutical Inc statistics
- Neurocrine Biosciences Inc statistics
- Natera, Inc. statistics
- Argenx SE statistics
Head to head: BNTX vs UTHRBMRN vs BNTXBNTX vs NBIXBNTX vs NTRA
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies