Vericel Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Vericel Corp had return on equity of 5.1%, an operating margin of 4.0%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.03. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Jun 2009 | 2010Jun 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | 71.4% | 78.9% | 39.9% | 48.3% | 47.9% | 52.5% | 64.6% | 68.1% | 67.8% | 67.9% | 66.8% | 68.6% | 72.6% | 74.4% | 74.6% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −81.7% | −32.6% | −35.4% | −23.4% | −4.3% | −9.5% | 1.9% | −5.0% | −10.4% | −3.3% | 1.9% | 4.0% | 6.0% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −69.2% | −31.9% | −36.0% | −27.0% | −9.0% | −8.2% | 2.3% | −4.8% | −10.2% | −1.6% | 4.4% | 6.0% | 7.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −91.1% | −30.8% | −39.2% | −23.0% | −3.4% | −8.3% | 12.0% | 13.5% | 6.1% | 7.7% | −2.4% | 9.0% | 20.1% |
| Return on equity | −95.9% | −92.3% | — | — | — | −100.8% | −56.6% | −83.5% | −73.2% | −13.0% | −9.1% | 2.3% | −4.9% | −9.2% | −1.5% | 4.0% | 5.1% | 6.7% |
| Return on assets | — | — | −254.1% | −257.2% | −128.1% | −70.1% | −39.9% | −47.2% | −33.5% | −9.4% | −7.1% | 1.6% | −3.3% | −6.5% | −1.0% | 2.6% | 3.6% | 4.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | — | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 1.01 | 1.25 | 1.31 | 1.24 | 1.05 | 0.87 | 0.69 | 0.70 | 0.64 | 0.63 | 0.60 | 0.60 | 0.62 |
| Current ratio | — | — | 0.30 | 2.47 | 1.59 | 3.51 | 2.26 | 3.48 | 3.86 | 7.62 | 5.64 | 5.50 | 6.08 | 4.99 | 4.49 | 4.23 | 5.03 | 5.04 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 37.7% | 74.9% | 12.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | 7.4x | 17.5x | 28.5x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 5.9% | — | — | — | 1.4% | 4.9% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 73.8% | 36.9% | 28.1% | 20.2% | 15.0% | 25.8% | 10.5% | 10.4% | 12.1% | 10.7% | 10.5% | 10.0% | 9.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 47.8% | 43.9% | 50.4% | 55.7% | 53.9% | 51.9% | 55.4% | 62.5% | 65.0% | 61.3% | 60.2% | 60.4% | 59.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 19.2% | 134.8% | >999% | >999% | 210.5% | 2.9% | 4.7% | 2.6% | 2.4% | 2.9% | 2.2% | 2.1% | 5.1% | 4.6% | 10.1% | 27.0% | 9.8% | 2.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 521.9% | — | — | — | −56.1% | 149.8% | 254.6% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 71.9% | 77.6% | 69.0% | 73.7% | 73.5% | 78.7% | 72.0% | 72.8% |
| Operating margin | −4.3% | 24.5% | −24.3% | −3.2% | 5.1% | 24.1% | −11.8% | 0.6% |
| Net margin | −1.6% | 26.3% | −21.4% | −0.9% | 7.5% | 25.0% | −9.2% | 2.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −15.9% | 11.2% | −14.5% | 0.1% | 28.8% | 13.8% | 22.1% | 18.4% |
| Current ratio | 4.61 | 4.23 | 5.01 | 4.97 | 4.87 | 5.03 | 5.18 | 5.04 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 10.5% | 6.5% | 13.8% | 10.6% | 9.4% | 7.8% | 11.8% | 9.7% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 65.7% | 46.6% | 79.5% | 66.3% | 59.0% | 46.8% | 71.9% | 62.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $265m of assets due within a year against $53m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $265m short-term assets against $80m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $18m against $640,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Vericel's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 2 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 3.4% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 15 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 67.1%, moving by 6.8 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -5.1%; its worst year was -28.6%.
- Cash conversion 7 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 5 of 10 years, at a median 3.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 3 / 20
The diluted share count rose 10.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 14.0% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (37 before it).
Compare with peers
- Adaptive Biotechnologies Corp statistics
- Vir Biotechnology, Inc. statistics
- Arvinas, Inc. statistics
- Syndax Pharmaceuticals Inc statistics
- Iovance Biotherapeutics, Inc. statistics
Head to head: ADPT vs VCELVCEL vs VIRARVN vs VCELIOVA vs VCEL
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies