Veon Ltd. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Veon Ltd. had return on equity of 48.5%, an operating margin of 32.7% and debt equal to 234.6% of equity. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 5.5% | 12.2% | 15.5% | 6.1% | 23.1% | 23.6% | 26.6% | 31.0% | 25.1% | 27.7% | 32.7% |
| Net margin | −5.8% | 27.2% | −5.6% | 4.0% | 8.4% | −9.1% | 20.8% | −0.2% | −66.3% | 12.2% | 13.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | — | — | — | — | 54.4% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Return on equity | −14.2% | 49.1% | −10.8% | 9.5% | 27.9% | −45.5% | — | −1.6% | — | 49.8% | 48.5% |
| Return on assets | — | 11.4% | −2.6% | 2.0% | 4.3% | −2.1% | 5.3% | −0.1% | −21.0% | 6.0% | 6.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.42 | 0.47 | 0.51 | 0.50 | 0.23 | 0.25 | 0.24 | 0.32 | 0.49 | 0.51 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.69 | 0.85 | 0.70 | 0.43 | 0.65 | 0.81 | — | — | — | — |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 176.0% | 281.3% | — | 613.3% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 432.1% | 304.6% | 234.6% |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | 44.3% | 74.8% | 74.1% | 8.6% | 32.0% | 30.8% | 24.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | 15.8% | 18.2% | 16.9% | 14.4% | 15.7% | 16.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities The company doesn't report a short-term split. Not assessable.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- TIM S.a. statistics
- Millicom International Cellular SA statistics
- Chunghwa Telecom Co LTD statistics
- Telus Corp statistics
- IDT Corp statistics
Head to head: TIMB vs VEONTIGO vs VEONCHT vs VEON
More: Integrated Telecommunication Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies