Where Food Comes From, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Where Food Comes From, Inc. had return on equity of 16.0%, an operating margin of 4.8%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.03. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 55.0% | 55.5% | 53.8% | 46.7% | 42.9% | 46.7% | 46.6% | 44.2% | 43.5% | 43.7% | 44.5% | 44.4% | 42.1% | 41.9% | 41.0% | 38.2% | 38.3% |
| Operating margin | 11.0% | 16.0% | 9.3% | 0.5% | 3.9% | 7.6% | 5.5% | 0.5% | 4.9% | 7.5% | 8.4% | 10.5% | 10.7% | 10.7% | 8.6% | 4.8% | 5.9% |
| Net margin | 10.0% | 20.4% | 16.5% | −0.6% | 2.6% | 5.1% | 3.7% | 0.9% | 4.5% | 6.5% | 6.9% | 13.5% | 8.0% | 8.6% | 8.2% | 6.2% | 5.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 11.4% | 16.7% | 5.0% | 3.1% | 5.9% | 8.0% | 4.7% | 3.7% | 4.4% | 12.1% | 9.9% | 12.8% | 10.3% | 10.6% | 10.0% | 5.8% | 4.0% |
| Return on equity | 92.9% | 114.0% | 50.5% | −1.1% | 4.5% | 8.2% | 5.4% | 1.5% | 7.8% | 11.8% | 11.3% | 22.6% | 15.2% | 18.5% | 20.4% | 16.0% | 16.0% |
| Return on assets | 36.4% | 63.9% | 33.7% | −0.7% | 3.3% | 6.5% | 4.1% | 1.1% | 5.8% | 8.2% | 7.4% | 15.1% | 10.5% | 12.4% | 13.4% | 10.9% | 10.9% |
| Asset turnover | 3.64 | 3.13 | 2.03 | 1.26 | 1.28 | 1.27 | 1.09 | 1.18 | 1.28 | 1.27 | 1.07 | 1.12 | 1.30 | 1.45 | 1.63 | 1.77 | 1.89 |
| Current ratio | 3.58 | 8.02 | 5.41 | 3.78 | 5.42 | 6.35 | 3.55 | 2.97 | 2.57 | 2.14 | 2.39 | 2.90 | 2.60 | 2.09 | 1.74 | 2.03 | 1.67 |
| Debt to equity | 2.6% | 41.0% | 19.1% | 5.3% | 0.5% | 0.4% | 0.1% | 0.5% | 0.4% | 0.3% | 12.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 10.8x | 22.9x | 18.8x | 0.8x | 35.1x | — | — | 51.7x | 180.8x | 155.2x | 129.8x | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | −35.0% | — | — | 41.7% | 37.5% | 37.0% | — | 31.4% | 31.0% | 25.0% | 18.2% | 29.2% | 29.8% | 28.8% | 31.1% | 33.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 44.0% | 39.5% | 44.5% | 46.2% | 39.0% | 39.1% | 41.1% | 43.6% | 38.6% | 36.2% | 36.1% | 33.9% | 31.5% | 31.1% | 32.5% | 33.4% | 32.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.8% | 0.3% | 1.4% | 0.6% | 0.9% | 0.3% | 3.8% | 0.5% | 2.1% | 1.8% | 2.3% | 1.0% | 0.4% | 0.6% | 0.6% | 0.6% | 1.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 113.7% | 82.0% | 30.0% | — | 224.9% | 156.5% | 124.7% | 403.0% | 98.3% | 186.3% | 143.5% | 94.8% | 128.6% | 124.3% | 121.3% | 94.5% | 69.5% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 30.9% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 7.3% | 8.7% | 4.7% | 16.2% | — | 21.3% | 64.2% | 34.8% | 48.8% | 22.1% | 52.2% | 71.9% | 134.7% | 147.9% | 87.2% | 149.2% | 261.6% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 39.0% | 42.0% | 41.6% | 37.5% | 38.3% | 35.9% | 38.1% | 40.6% |
| Operating margin | 8.6% | 11.3% | 2.7% | 8.4% | 8.2% | −1.0% | 5.6% | 10.1% |
| Net margin | 6.9% | 14.4% | 0.6% | 8.6% | 16.3% | −3.4% | 1.7% | 6.2% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 12.3% | −1.2% | 11.4% | 17.5% | 6.3% | −12.3% | 7.0% | 14.1% |
| Current ratio | 1.42 | 1.74 | 1.63 | 1.56 | 1.88 | 2.03 | 1.88 | 1.67 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 30.5% | 30.7% | 38.9% | 29.1% | 30.1% | 36.9% | 32.5% | 30.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $7m of assets due within a year against $4m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $7m short-term assets against $294,000 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $1m against $2,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Where Food Comes From's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 12 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 10.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 15 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 42.7%, moving by 2.1 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 3 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 7.9%; its worst year was 1.2%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 8.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 18.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Farmmi, Inc. statistics
- Immucell Corp statistics
- Rythm, Inc. statistics
- Local Bounti Corporation statistics
- Hydrofarm Holdings Group, Inc. statistics
Head to head: FAMI vs WFCFICCC vs WFCFRYM vs WFCF
More: Agricultural Products & Services stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies