Coca-cola Consolidated, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Coca-cola Consolidated, Inc. had return on equity of 168.3%, an operating margin of 13.2% and a current ratio of 1.26. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Jan 2010 | 2010Jan 2011 | 2011Jan 2012 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Jan 2016 | 2016Jan 2017 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 43.0% | 42.3% | 40.3% | 40.5% | 40.1% | 40.4% | 39.1% | 38.0% | 35.1% | 33.6% | 34.6% | 35.3% | 35.1% | 36.7% | 39.1% | 39.9% | 39.7% | 39.1% |
| Operating margin | 6.5% | 6.4% | 5.6% | 5.5% | 4.5% | 4.9% | 4.3% | 4.2% | 2.4% | 1.3% | 3.7% | 6.3% | 7.9% | 10.3% | 12.5% | 13.3% | 13.2% | 13.0% |
| Net margin | 2.6% | 2.4% | 1.8% | 1.7% | 1.7% | 1.8% | 2.6% | 1.6% | 2.3% | −0.4% | 0.2% | 3.4% | 3.4% | 6.9% | 6.1% | 9.2% | 7.9% | 7.2% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 2.5% | 3.4% | 3.6% | 1.9% | 2.1% | 0.4% | −2.4% | −0.3% | 3.1% | 0.7% | 2.5% | 5.8% | 6.6% | 4.1% | 7.9% | 7.3% | 8.6% | 8.4% |
| Return on equity | 22.8% | 24.4% | 22.2% | 20.6% | 16.9% | 16.7% | 27.7% | 19.3% | 30.0% | −5.5% | 3.2% | 40.1% | 31.0% | 47.1% | 32.0% | 44.4% | 168.3% | — |
| Return on assets | — | 2.8% | 2.1% | 2.1% | 2.2% | 2.3% | 3.6% | 2.3% | 3.5% | −0.7% | 0.4% | 5.4% | 5.7% | 12.0% | 10.2% | 13.2% | 11.9% | 12.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.16 | 1.17 | 1.22 | 1.28 | 1.29 | 1.41 | 1.46 | 1.55 | 1.52 | 1.57 | 1.58 | 1.67 | 1.73 | 1.66 | 1.44 | 1.50 | 1.76 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.50 | 1.06 | 1.12 | 1.15 | 1.26 | 1.33 | 1.30 | 1.24 | 1.33 | 1.33 | 1.32 | 1.29 | 1.38 | 1.56 | 1.94 | 1.26 | 1.21 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 409.0% | 404.1% | 364.5% | 242.3% | 274.4% | 254.9% | 327.4% | 296.7% | 308.3% | 296.8% | 183.7% | 101.6% | 53.7% | 41.7% | 127.0% | — | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 2.5x | 2.7x | 2.4x | 2.5x | 2.5x | 2.9x | 3.4x | 3.6x | 2.4x | 1.1x | 3.9x | 8.5x | 13.1x | 25.9x | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 29.0% | 35.4% | 37.9% | 41.0% | 27.4% | 35.1% | 34.4% | 38.9% | — | — | 45.8% | 24.5% | 25.7% | 25.2% | 26.7% | 26.1% | 26.2% | 26.4% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 36.4% | 36.0% | 34.7% | 35.0% | 35.6% | 35.5% | 34.8% | 33.8% | 32.7% | 32.4% | 30.9% | 29.1% | 27.2% | 26.4% | 26.5% | 26.6% | 26.6% | 26.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.0% | 3.8% | 3.4% | 3.3% | 3.7% | 4.8% | 7.1% | 5.5% | 4.1% | 3.0% | 3.6% | 4.0% | 2.8% | 4.8% | 4.2% | 5.4% | 4.3% | 3.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 94.8% | 144.1% | 197.5% | 109.9% | 126.3% | 24.0% | −94.2% | −21.1% | 135.9% | — | >999% | 169.5% | 193.1% | 59.5% | 129.4% | 79.8% | 108.6% | 117.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 24.0% | 25.5% | 32.2% | 33.9% | 33.4% | 29.6% | 15.7% | 18.6% | 9.7% | — | 82.4% | 5.4% | 4.9% | 2.2% | 11.5% | 29.3% | 15.2% | 13.9% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 25.3% | 17.7% | 16.3% | 30.8% | 26.5% | 122.9% | — | — | 7.1% | 30.5% | 7.9% | 3.2% | 2.6% | 3.7% | 8.9% | 160.5% | 434.6% | 11.9% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Apr 2026 | 2026 Q2Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 39.5% | 40.0% | 39.7% | 40.0% | 39.6% | 39.6% | 39.4% | 37.9% |
| Operating margin | 12.9% | 12.5% | 12.0% | 14.7% | 13.1% | 12.7% | 12.9% | 13.2% |
| Net margin | 6.5% | 10.2% | 6.6% | 10.1% | 7.5% | 7.2% | 6.0% | 7.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 8.1% | 4.9% | 6.3% | 8.0% | 14.0% | 5.6% | 7.7% | 6.4% |
| Current ratio | 2.47 | 1.94 | 2.03 | 2.04 | 2.04 | 1.26 | 1.23 | 1.21 |
| Debt to equity | 139.0% | 126.0% | 119.2% | 109.7% | 109.3% | — | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 26.7% | 27.4% | 27.7% | 25.4% | 26.6% | 26.9% | 26.5% | 24.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.5bn of assets due within a year against $1.3bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.5bn short-term assets against $3.7bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt $172m of cash against $2.5bn of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt $946m of operating cash flow against $2.5bn of debt.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Coca-cola Consolidated's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 11 / 20
Net income has been a median 7.3% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 13 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 36.3%, moving by 2.2 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 3 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 8.2%; its worst year was 0.8%.
- Cash conversion 13 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 5.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 16 / 20
The diluted share count rose 1.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.2% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Monster Beverage statistics
- Ambev S.a. statistics
- Celsius Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Keurig Dr Pepper statistics
- Coca-cola Europacific Partners plc statistics
Head to head: COKE vs MNSTABEV vs COKECELH vs COKE
More: Beverages stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies