Youdao, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Youdao, Inc. had an operating margin of 3.7% and a current ratio of 0.59. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 35.5% | 29.6% | 27.7% | 43.8% | 49.5% | 51.6% | 51.4% | 48.9% | 44.3% |
| Operating margin | −28.5% | −30.0% | −38.1% | −33.7% | −23.5% | −15.5% | −8.7% | 2.6% | 3.7% |
| Net margin | −29.3% | −28.6% | −49.8% | −69.4% | −24.8% | −14.5% | −10.2% | 1.5% | 1.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −21.5% | −15.6% | −32.3% | −13.9% | −35.1% | −13.4% | −8.5% | −1.4% | 0.5% |
| Return on assets | — | −35.1% | −44.7% | −82.4% | −42.3% | −29.1% | −27.5% | 4.7% | 5.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.23 | 0.90 | 1.19 | 1.70 | 2.01 | 2.70 | 3.24 | 3.10 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.46 | 1.15 | 0.55 | 0.75 | 0.59 | 0.42 | 0.50 | 0.59 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.0x | 3.5x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 7.4% | 14.6% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 29.2% | 25.2% | 22.4% | 14.7% | 15.1% | 16.0% | 13.8% | 9.6% | 8.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.3% | 1.9% | 1.5% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 1.4% | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −96.9% | 27.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $246m of assets due within a year against $420m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $246m short-term assets against $139m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $31m against $9m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Perdoceo Education Corp statistics
- Universal Technical Institute Inc statistics
- Afya Ltd statistics
- Grand Canyon Education, Inc. statistics
- Lincoln Educational Services Corp statistics
Head to head: DAO vs PRDODAO vs UTIAFYA vs DAO
More: Education Services stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies