Exponent Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Exponent Inc had return on equity of 26.1%, an operating margin of 20.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.40. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Jan 2010 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Jan 2014 | 2014Jan 2015 | 2015Jan 2016 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Jan 2020 | 2020Jan 2021 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Jan 2025 | 2025Jan 2026 | LTMJul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 14.6% | 17.4% | 19.6% | 19.7% | 18.9% | 20.9% | 22.0% | 19.6% | 20.7% | 24.1% | 20.4% | 20.8% | 23.4% | 27.4% | 20.7% | 21.4% | 20.6% | 20.2% |
| Net margin | 9.7% | 11.1% | 12.0% | 12.7% | 13.0% | 13.4% | 13.9% | 15.1% | 11.9% | 19.0% | 19.8% | 20.6% | 21.7% | 19.9% | 18.7% | 19.5% | 18.2% | 17.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 10.9% | 13.5% | 15.7% | 14.9% | 18.8% | 14.2% | 17.6% | 16.7% | 18.1% | 19.7% | 20.4% | 24.6% | 25.3% | 15.9% | 20.7% | 24.6% | 21.0% | 17.2% |
| Return on equity | 14.7% | 16.5% | 17.6% | 18.5% | 17.1% | 17.0% | 17.2% | 17.7% | 14.7% | 24.0% | 24.8% | 23.2% | 26.0% | 27.7% | 29.6% | 28.1% | 26.1% | 32.9% |
| Return on assets | — | 10.6% | 12.4% | 12.7% | 11.7% | 11.5% | 11.6% | 12.0% | 9.8% | 15.9% | 16.0% | 14.4% | 16.0% | 16.1% | 16.3% | 15.3% | 13.6% | 15.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.96 | 1.03 | 1.00 | 0.90 | 0.86 | 0.83 | 0.80 | 0.82 | 0.84 | 0.81 | 0.70 | 0.74 | 0.81 | 0.87 | 0.78 | 0.75 | 0.88 |
| Current ratio | — | 3.37 | 3.27 | 3.28 | 3.49 | 3.22 | 3.39 | 3.42 | 3.39 | 3.32 | 2.94 | 3.13 | 2.96 | 2.20 | 2.34 | 2.74 | 2.40 | 1.98 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Effective tax rate | 40.2% | 41.1% | 40.4% | 39.7% | 39.6% | 40.1% | 38.7% | 31.3% | 49.9% | 22.6% | 20.9% | 14.8% | 19.6% | 22.6% | 26.2% | 26.0% | 28.0% | 28.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.9% | 1.0% | 1.4% | 1.7% | 2.1% | 1.6% | 1.7% | 4.6% | 1.4% | 4.3% | 5.5% | 1.2% | 1.5% | 2.3% | 3.0% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 1.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 112.1% | 122.0% | 130.8% | 117.0% | 143.8% | 106.4% | 126.4% | 110.7% | 152.8% | 103.6% | 103.1% | 119.1% | 116.3% | 79.9% | 110.6% | 126.2% | 115.4% | 97.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 20.5% | 32.1% | 35.9% | 39.6% | 52.9% | 37.7% | 40.6% | 48.2% | 42.7% | 48.1% | 53.9% | 53.4% | 58.1% | 54.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 51.9% | 21.3% | 94.9% | 52.5% | 60.2% | 101.6% | 70.7% | 82.3% | 53.5% | 73.6% | 65.2% | 81.2% | 42.6% | 250.8% | 70.5% | 46.5% | 129.7% | 250.4% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Jan 2025 | 2025 Q1Apr 2025 | 2025 Q2Jul 2025 | 2025 Q3Oct 2025 | 2025 Q4Jan 2026 | 2026 Q1Apr 2026 | 2026 Q2Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 19.0% | 19.9% | 30.5% | 12.1% | 19.7% | 19.8% | 24.9% | 16.3% |
| Net margin | 19.1% | 17.2% | 18.3% | 18.7% | 19.1% | 16.8% | 17.8% | 17.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 20.5% | 39.1% | 3.8% | 23.9% | 20.4% | 35.9% | −2.1% | 17.0% |
| Current ratio | 3.00 | 2.74 | 3.32 | 3.15 | 2.69 | 2.40 | 2.40 | 1.98 |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $312m of assets due within a year against $158m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $312m short-term assets against $206m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Exponent's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Net income has been a median 15.2% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 17 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 21.9%; its worst year was 20.1%.
- Cash conversion 19 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 18.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 17 / 20
The diluted share count fell 5.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (92 before it).
Compare with peers
- RMR Group Inc. statistics
- Willdan Group, Inc. statistics
- Mistras Group, Inc. statistics
- Bowman Consulting Group Ltd. statistics
- Onterris, Inc. statistics
Head to head: EXPO vs RMREXPO vs WLDNEXPO vs MGBWMN vs EXPO
More: Research & Consulting Services stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies