Five9, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Five9, Inc. had return on equity of 5.6%, an operating margin of 2.5%, debt equal to 93.6% of equity and a current ratio of 4.51. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 38.4% | 42.0% | 47.0% | 53.8% | 58.7% | 58.5% | 59.6% | 59.0% | 58.5% | 55.5% | 52.8% | 52.5% | 54.2% | 55.1% | 54.9% |
| Operating margin | −26.7% | −33.7% | −34.5% | −16.4% | −4.0% | −2.9% | 2.7% | 1.0% | −2.8% | −9.2% | −11.2% | −10.8% | −4.9% | 2.5% | 3.9% |
| Net margin | −30.3% | −37.2% | −36.6% | −20.1% | −7.3% | −4.5% | −0.1% | −1.4% | −9.7% | −8.7% | −12.2% | −9.0% | −1.2% | 3.4% | 4.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −17.2% | −25.6% | −24.5% | −10.9% | 3.5% | 4.2% | 11.4% | 9.8% | 8.5% | −2.2% | 4.7% | 10.7% | 9.7% | 17.5% | 17.4% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −194.8% | −76.0% | −41.9% | −23.2% | −0.2% | −2.7% | −17.7% | −21.6% | −36.3% | −19.3% | −2.2% | 5.6% | 7.6% |
| Return on assets | — | −55.6% | −43.6% | −23.9% | −11.6% | −7.7% | −0.1% | −1.0% | −5.4% | −4.7% | −7.8% | −6.0% | −0.7% | 2.1% | 3.3% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.49 | 1.19 | 1.19 | 1.59 | 1.72 | 0.99 | 0.75 | 0.56 | 0.54 | 0.64 | 0.66 | 0.59 | 0.60 | 0.67 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.04 | 2.74 | 1.47 | 2.20 | 2.35 | 6.96 | 5.78 | 6.65 | 3.92 | 5.16 | 5.53 | 1.95 | 4.51 | 4.15 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 99.6% | 188.5% | 113.4% | 71.0% | 137.8% | 131.7% | 230.4% | 370.2% | 241.2% | 138.9% | 187.3% | 93.6% | 93.9% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 0.7x | 0.2x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.0x | 3.7x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 12.3% | 7.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 20.7% | 20.8% | 21.4% | 17.6% | 14.7% | 13.5% | 13.3% | 13.8% | 15.8% | 17.5% | 18.2% | 17.2% | 16.0% | 13.3% | 12.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.2% | 0.7% | 1.0% | 0.9% | 0.7% | 1.3% | 3.6% | 5.9% | 7.0% | 6.9% | 6.7% | 3.4% | 4.1% | 2.2% | 3.3% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 510.6% | 351.7% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 24.8% | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 53.8% | 56.0% | 55.0% | 54.9% | 55.0% | 55.4% | 55.9% | 53.4% |
| Operating margin | −5.8% | 1.5% | −1.9% | −0.6% | 5.6% | 3.6% | 6.1% | 0.6% |
| Net margin | −1.7% | 4.2% | 0.2% | 0.4% | 6.3% | 6.6% | 6.0% | 1.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 10.1% | 14.5% | 15.6% | 11.1% | 17.0% | 25.8% | 19.2% | 7.8% |
| Current ratio | 1.85 | 1.95 | 2.02 | 4.44 | 4.61 | 4.51 | 4.51 | 4.15 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 16.1% | 14.9% | 14.7% | 14.1% | 12.3% | 12.0% | 13.0% | 13.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $951m of assets due within a year against $229m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $951m short-term assets against $816m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $47m against $13m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Five9's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 6 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 6.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 56.2%, moving by 2.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -3.1%; its worst year was -11.9%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 9.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 30.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 14.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (48 before it).
Compare with peers
- Monday.com Ltd. statistics
- BOX Inc statistics
- Blackbaud Inc statistics
- Manhattan Associates Inc statistics
- Zoominfo Technologies Inc. statistics
Head to head: FIVN vs MNDYBOX vs FIVNBLKB vs FIVNFIVN vs MANH
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies