Kratos Defense & Security Solutions, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Kratos Defense & Security Solutions, Inc. had return on equity of 1.3%, an operating margin of 1.9%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 4.06. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 19.0% | 20.6% | 26.8% | 26.5% | 24.2% | 23.5% | 24.6% | 18.0% | 21.0% | 27.5% | 26.5% | 27.2% | 27.7% | 25.2% | 25.9% | 25.3% | 22.9% | 23.0% |
| Operating margin | −8.1% | 5.7% | 4.1% | −5.1% | 2.2% | 0.7% | −0.7% | −2.7% | −1.6% | 4.9% | 5.3% | 3.9% | 3.4% | −0.3% | 3.0% | 2.6% | 1.9% | 1.2% |
| Net margin | −12.4% | 3.5% | −3.4% | −11.8% | −4.4% | −10.2% | 3.0% | −9.0% | −5.7% | −0.6% | 1.7% | 10.6% | −0.2% | −4.1% | −0.9% | 1.4% | 1.6% | 2.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 7.7% | 6.4% | −0.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 1.2% | −1.4% | −7.9% | 1.2% | −0.7% | −10.2% | −8.5% |
| Return on equity | −33.2% | 9.8% | −10.0% | −35.9% | −12.0% | −30.0% | 8.3% | −22.8% | −10.8% | −0.7% | 2.3% | 10.6% | −0.2% | −3.9% | −0.9% | 1.4% | 1.3% | 1.1% |
| Return on assets | — | 2.7% | −2.8% | −9.2% | −3.0% | −6.6% | 1.9% | −6.5% | −4.3% | −0.3% | 1.1% | 5.8% | −0.1% | −2.3% | −0.6% | 0.9% | 1.0% | 0.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.76 | 0.82 | 0.78 | 0.68 | 0.65 | 0.65 | 0.72 | 0.76 | 0.61 | 0.65 | 0.54 | 0.51 | 0.57 | 0.65 | 0.63 | 0.61 | 0.46 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.55 | 1.97 | 1.63 | 1.71 | 1.65 | 1.86 | 1.90 | 2.50 | 3.00 | 2.86 | 3.87 | 3.43 | 2.49 | 2.03 | 2.94 | 4.06 | 5.54 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 132.4% | 209.4% | 200.4% | 217.8% | 292.6% | 175.1% | 156.3% | 57.5% | 56.7% | 51.4% | 32.6% | 31.4% | 26.7% | 22.5% | 13.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | 1.0x | 0.6x | n/m | 0.4x | 0.1x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 1.4x | 1.6x | 1.2x | 1.2x | n/m | 1.4x | 1.9x | 2.7x | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 52.9% | 30.6% | — | 88.6% | — | 78.4% | 38.5% | 35.3% | 24.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.5% | 0.5% | 1.2% | 1.8% | 2.3% | 2.4% | 2.5% | 2.1% | 2.4% | 2.5% | 2.5% | 3.6% | 4.3% | 4.3% | 3.7% | 3.5% | 3.0% | 2.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 14.3% | 14.0% | 19.7% | 19.9% | 20.5% | 20.1% | 22.9% | 17.1% | 16.9% | 19.4% | 18.2% | 19.3% | 19.7% | 20.3% | 19.2% | 19.1% | 17.8% | 18.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.1% | 0.6% | 1.1% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 4.8% | 5.7% | 5.1% | 5.1% | 5.1% | 7.1% | 5.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 179.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 11.1% | — | — | — | −52.1% | −624.5% | −417.2% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 25.1% | 24.7% | 24.3% | 21.0% | 22.2% | 24.2% | 24.2% | 21.8% |
| Operating margin | 2.4% | 1.1% | 2.2% | 1.1% | 2.0% | 2.4% | 1.3% | −0.3% |
| Net margin | 1.2% | 1.4% | 1.5% | 0.8% | 2.5% | 1.7% | 3.2% | 1.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −3.3% | 11.3% | −17.1% | −9.2% | −11.9% | −3.5% | −12.7% | −6.1% |
| Current ratio | 3.22 | 2.94 | 2.83 | 4.43 | 4.30 | 4.06 | 5.63 | 5.54 |
| Debt to equity | 13.2% | 12.9% | 12.4% | 8.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 3.6% | 3.7% | 3.3% | 2.9% | 2.9% | 2.8% | 2.9% | 3.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 19.1% | 19.7% | 18.8% | 17.0% | 17.2% | 18.4% | 19.5% | 19.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $2.4bn of assets due within a year against $425m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $2.4bn short-term assets against $238m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Kratos Defense & Security Solutions's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 2 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 3.3% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 10 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 26.3%, moving by 1.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 1.8%; its worst year was -0.9%.
- Cash conversion 3 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 6 years, at a median -4.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 9 / 20
The diluted share count rose 40.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 2.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Hexcel Corp statistics
- Astronics Corp statistics
- Ducommun Inc statistics
- Rocket Lab Corp statistics
- Axon Enterprise statistics
Head to head: HXL vs KTOSATRO vs KTOSDCO vs KTOS
More: Aerospace & Defense stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies