Seres Therapeutics, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Seres Therapeutics, Inc. had return on equity of 19.6% and a net margin of 721.9%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | — | −420.7% | −278.4% | −350.0% | −203.7% | −268.3% | −45.2% | <−999% | — | — | 721.9% | <−999% |
| Return on equity | −26.7% | −54.2% | −92.5% | — | — | −141.0% | −42.8% | — | — | — | 19.6% | −57.0% |
| Return on assets | −25.3% | −37.4% | −38.7% | −63.8% | −55.6% | −37.5% | −18.8% | −71.1% | −32.2% | 0.1% | 4.1% | −18.7% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 376.7% | 278.7% | 339.5% | 232.3% | 272.7% | 97.9% | >999% | — | — | >999% | >999% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $42m of assets due within a year against $20m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $42m short-term assets against $47m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Seres Therapeutics's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -47.1% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -267.5%; its worst year was -4462.8%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 10 years, at a median -184.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 162.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 38.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (15 before it).
Compare with peers
- Korsana Biosciences, Inc. statistics
- Ovid Therapeutics Inc. statistics
- Absci Corp statistics
- Collplant Biotechnologies Ltd statistics
- Korro Bio, Inc. statistics
Head to head: KRSA vs MCRBMCRB vs OVIDABSI vs MCRB
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies