Oramed Pharmaceuticals Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Oramed Pharmaceuticals Inc. had return on equity of 35.2%, an operating margin of -754.4%, debt equal to 0.3% of equity and a current ratio of 6.98. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Aug 2016 | 2017Aug 2017 | 2018Aug 2018 | 2019Aug 2019 | 2020Aug 2020 | 2021Aug 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 23.6% | 92.4% | — | 96.7% | — | — | — | — | 0.7% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | −438.6% | −552.3% | −541.3% | −433.8% | −896.2% | <−999% | <−999% | −754.4% |
| Net margin | <−999% | −426.7% | −519.7% | −531.1% | −424.8% | −850.5% | <−999% | 379.7% | >999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 724.8% | −237.7% | −598.7% | −479.3% | −462.1% | −797.5% | <−999% | −787.2% | −457.7% |
| Return on equity | −41.9% | −46.1% | −50.6% | −56.8% | −44.0% | — | −24.1% | 3.2% | 35.2% |
| Return on assets | −25.6% | −25.7% | −29.6% | −35.0% | −29.0% | −26.6% | −25.2% | 2.7% | 28.4% |
| Asset turnover | 0.01 | 0.06 | 0.06 | 0.07 | 0.07 | 0.03 | 0.02 | 0.01 | 0.01 |
| Current ratio | 8.62 | 3.93 | 6.82 | 6.28 | 8.93 | 14.27 | 27.34 | 3.06 | 6.98 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 44.5% | 63.7% | — | — | 0.0% | 31.1% | 0.3% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | n/m | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 15.0% |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | 418.6% | 489.1% | 500.3% | 377.7% | 776.5% | >999% | 669.5% | 319.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.4% | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.6% | 3.0% | 13.9% | 18.4% | 19.0% | 0.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −207.3% | −14.3% |
| Quarter | 2023 Q1Mar 2023 | 2023 Q2Jun 2023 | 2023 Q3Sept 2023 | 2023 Q4Dec 2023 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | 0.7% | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | −782.0% | −562.5% | — | — | −225.0% | — | — | — |
| Net margin | −509.8% | −177.2% | — | — | −382.1% | — | — | — |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −863.1% | −393.8% | — | — | −176.1% | — | — | — |
| Current ratio | 31.21 | 141.49 | 2.25 | 3.06 | 23.94 | 26.81 | 22.25 | 6.98 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 100.5% | 31.1% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 664.7% | 270.2% | — | — | 110.3% | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $53m of assets due within a year against $11m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Oramed Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 9 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -14.9% of total assets over 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -705.1%; its worst year was -1278.4%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 5 years, at a median -562.5% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 70.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 43.2% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (12 before it).
Compare with peers
- Korsana Biosciences, Inc. statistics
- Seres Therapeutics, Inc. statistics
- Collplant Biotechnologies Ltd statistics
- Korro Bio, Inc. statistics
- Vistagen Therapeutics, Inc. statistics
Head to head: KRSA vs ORMPMCRB vs ORMPCLGN vs ORMP
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies