Rigel Pharmaceuticals Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Rigel Pharmaceuticals Inc had return on equity of 185.9%, an operating margin of 42.6%, debt equal to 13.4% of equity and a current ratio of 2.42. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | 99.4% | 98.5% | 99.2% | 99.3% | 98.5% | 93.9% | 89.6% | 93.3% | 91.4% |
| Operating margin | −342.2% | <−999% | −163.3% | −116.5% | −26.7% | −8.4% | −46.2% | −17.5% | 13.5% | 42.6% | 31.5% |
| Net margin | −339.6% | <−999% | −158.3% | −112.8% | −27.4% | −12.0% | −48.7% | −21.5% | 9.8% | 124.7% | 116.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −376.3% | <−999% | −134.7% | −72.5% | −49.2% | 3.5% | −61.7% | −4.9% | 17.6% | 25.7% | 28.7% |
| Return on equity | −125.8% | −100.2% | −67.0% | −81.7% | −67.7% | −55.6% | — | — | — | 185.9% | 78.8% |
| Return on assets | −88.6% | −79.1% | −54.6% | −46.7% | −23.1% | −12.9% | −38.8% | −20.0% | 12.4% | 108.3% | 62.2% |
| Asset turnover | 0.26 | 0.05 | 0.34 | 0.41 | 0.84 | 1.07 | 0.80 | 0.93 | 1.28 | 0.87 | 0.54 |
| Current ratio | 3.37 | 6.40 | 4.94 | 2.04 | 2.18 | 2.43 | 1.78 | 1.86 | 2.13 | 2.42 | 1.94 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 18.6% | 58.8% | 65.8% | — | — | >999% | 13.4% | 9.4% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 3.1x | 17.1x | 15.0x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 4.8% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 311.3% | >999% | 105.4% | 89.2% | 55.3% | 43.7% | 50.1% | 21.0% | 13.0% | 11.3% | 15.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 102.6% | 843.7% | 157.3% | 125.8% | 70.5% | 61.6% | 93.5% | 90.5% | 63.1% | 39.4% | 44.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.9% | 3.7% | 2.5% | 2.5% | 1.2% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 180.0% | 20.6% | 24.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 85.5% | 89.9% | 91.7% | 95.6% | 93.2% | 91.5% | 92.2% | 89.2% |
| Operating margin | 25.4% | 28.9% | 23.9% | 60.1% | 40.9% | 33.2% | 20.2% | 30.0% |
| Net margin | 22.5% | 24.9% | 21.5% | 58.6% | 40.2% | 384.0% | 14.7% | 22.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 39.2% | 25.2% | −1.7% | 30.0% | 34.6% | 31.5% | 4.6% | 38.9% |
| Current ratio | 1.96 | 2.13 | 2.20 | 2.02 | 2.28 | 2.42 | 2.62 | 1.94 |
| Debt to equity | — | >999% | 323.2% | 73.2% | 51.0% | 13.4% | 11.3% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 11.2% | 9.8% | 15.8% | 6.7% | 10.6% | 15.3% | 19.9% | 17.7% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 48.9% | 51.3% | 52.0% | 28.8% | 41.7% | 43.0% | 52.1% | 41.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $186m of assets due within a year against $96m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $186m short-term assets against $58,000 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $87m against $6m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Rigel Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 8 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 6 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 5.7% of total assets over 8 years.
- Pricing power 12 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 92.0%, moving by 21.1 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -15.4%; its worst year was -93.6%.
- Cash conversion 3 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 8 years, at a median -17.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 4 / 20
The diluted share count rose 17.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 7.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (34 before it).
Compare with peers
- Harrow, Inc. statistics
- Evolus, Inc. statistics
- Aurora Cannabis Inc statistics
- Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc. statistics
- Xeris Biopharma Holdings, Inc. statistics
Head to head: HROW vs RIGLEOLS vs RIGLACB vs RIGL
More: Pharmaceuticals stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies