Star Bulk Carriers Corp. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Star Bulk Carriers Corp. had return on equity of 3.4%, an operating margin of 13.1%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.78. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −34.6% | 0.2% | −60.5% | −356.3% | 11.9% | −1.0% | −181.6% | −49.2% | 11.7% | 20.2% | 9.0% | 12.1% | 51.8% | 42.3% | 25.1% | 30.3% | 13.1% |
| Net margin | −41.0% | −4.2% | −65.0% | −365.0% | 2.6% | −8.0% | −195.6% | −69.4% | −2.9% | 9.0% | −2.0% | 1.4% | 47.7% | 39.4% | 18.3% | 24.1% | 8.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 46.2% | 0.3% | −42.8% | 21.9% | −143.5% | −343.1% | −208.5% | −193.3% | −18.3% | −24.5% | −31.5% | 14.2% | 44.6% | 51.8% | 33.5% | 32.9% | 20.3% |
| Return on equity | −11.7% | −1.0% | −15.1% | −114.2% | 1.0% | −1.7% | −40.0% | −14.2% | −0.9% | 4.5% | −1.1% | 0.6% | 37.5% | 27.6% | 9.4% | 14.7% | 3.4% |
| Return on assets | — | −0.7% | −9.8% | −58.6% | 0.4% | −0.9% | −21.8% | −7.4% | −0.5% | 2.3% | −0.5% | 0.3% | 19.6% | 15.7% | 5.4% | 8.6% | 2.1% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.17 | 0.15 | 0.16 | 0.17 | 0.12 | 0.11 | 0.11 | 0.16 | 0.25 | 0.26 | 0.22 | 0.41 | 0.40 | 0.29 | 0.36 | 0.26 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.55 | 0.60 | 0.89 | 2.14 | 0.96 | 1.51 | 8.13 | 1.43 | 1.34 | 0.86 | 1.15 | 2.35 | 1.78 | 1.26 | 1.65 | 1.78 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 192.0% | 71.5% | 74.7% | 80.3% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | 0.8x | 1.8x | 0.8x | 1.2x | 13.2x | 11.6x | 3.3x | 4.2x | 1.9x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.1% | — | 1.6% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | −0.0% | 0.0% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.0% | 72.3% | 90.0% | 0.1% | 182.9% | 351.8% | 202.3% | 178.4% | 43.3% | 50.4% | 42.3% | 10.4% | 9.1% | 1.8% | 1.9% | 4.4% | 8.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | <−999% | — | — | — | — | −273.3% | — | >999% | 93.6% | 131.5% | 183.0% | 136.6% | 251.8% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | 49.7% | 33.9% | 118.1% | 91.1% | 90.9% | 40.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 9.4% | >999% | — | 23.8% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 4.9% | 37.8% | 92.5% | 173.5% | 72.7% | 62.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $683m of assets due within a year against $384m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $683m short-term assets against $972m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $137m against $71m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Danaos Corp statistics
- Teekay Tankers LTD. statistics
- Teekay Corp LTD statistics
- Costamare Inc. statistics
- International Seaways, Inc. statistics
Head to head: DAC vs SBLKSBLK vs TNKSBLK vs TK
More: Marine Transportation stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies