Teekay Tankers LTD. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Teekay Tankers LTD. had return on equity of 18.5%, an operating margin of 32.5%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 7.98. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | 90.3% | 82.1% | 50.9% | 57.4% | 66.5% | 41.9% | 57.9% | 67.8% | 67.0% | 66.7% |
| Operating margin | 24.0% | −20.7% | −172.3% | 5.2% | 24.8% | 36.2% | 17.6% | 0.3% | 0.9% | 13.1% | 16.0% | −35.8% | 22.4% | 37.1% | 30.9% | 32.5% |
| Net margin | −9.6% | −4.2% | −182.9% | −4.5% | 22.9% | 33.1% | 12.3% | −13.5% | −6.8% | 4.4% | 9.9% | −44.7% | 20.0% | 35.3% | 32.8% | 36.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | — | — | — | 8.4% | −6.4% | 35.8% | 17.6% | −1.7% | 11.2% | 37.4% | −23.7% | 17.0% | 42.8% | 32.7% | 12.1% |
| Return on equity | −5.3% | −1.8% | −80.9% | −2.6% | 14.3% | 25.3% | 7.4% | −6.0% | −5.4% | 4.3% | 8.4% | −25.2% | 24.3% | 39.4% | 24.4% | 18.5% |
| Return on assets | −2.5% | −0.7% | −26.3% | −0.7% | 4.9% | 10.4% | 3.3% | −2.8% | −2.4% | 1.9% | 4.3% | −14.0% | 13.8% | 27.9% | 20.6% | 16.7% |
| Asset turnover | 0.26 | 0.17 | 0.14 | 0.16 | 0.21 | 0.31 | 0.27 | 0.21 | 0.36 | 0.43 | 0.44 | 0.31 | 0.69 | 0.79 | 0.63 | 0.45 |
| Current ratio | 1.55 | 1.36 | 3.28 | 3.06 | 3.06 | 0.97 | 1.01 | 0.75 | 1.14 | 1.51 | 1.25 | 1.56 | 2.70 | 3.97 | 5.66 | 7.98 |
| Debt to equity | 103.0% | 157.2% | 233.8% | 247.5% | 143.0% | 129.7% | 101.0% | 95.7% | 78.4% | 61.6% | 23.4% | 40.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 1.1x | n/m | n/m | 0.9x | 6.8x | 11.1x | 3.2x | 0.0x | 0.1x | 1.9x | 2.7x | n/m | 7.4x | 19.7x | 50.9x | 106.7x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 32.7% | 7.7% | — | 0.9% | 2.4% | 0.1% | −1.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 44.2% | 1.7% | 1.1% | 0.8% | 1.2% | 1.8% | 4.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 5.7% | 20.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | 36.6% | −19.4% | 290.9% | — | — | 256.4% | 380.1% | — | 84.8% | 121.4% | 99.4% | 32.9% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | 17.8% | 8.6% | 69.1% | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 11.4% | 25.5% | 19.6% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | 48.5% | — | 23.7% | 27.3% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 9.4% | 25.6% | 59.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.1bn of assets due within a year against $135m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.1bn short-term assets against $63m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $309m against $3m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Teekay Corp LTD statistics
- Costamare Inc. statistics
- Danaos Corp statistics
- Tsakos Energy Navigation LTD statistics
- Global Ship Lease, Inc. statistics
Head to head: TK vs TNKCMRE vs TNKDAC vs TNK
More: Marine Transportation stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies