undamentalytics Newsletter

Teekay Corp LTD key statistics and ratios

In fiscal 2025, Teekay Corp LTD had return on equity of 4.8%, an operating margin of 31.9%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 8.89. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.

Financial ratios

US$ thousands unless shown otherwise. Fiscal years, plus the last twelve months (LTM) when newer.

Teekay Corp LTD: financial ratios, annual
Fiscal year2010Dec 20102011Dec 20112012Dec 20122013Dec 20132014Dec 20142015Dec 20152016Dec 20162017Dec 20172018Dec 20182019Dec 20192020Dec 20202021Dec 20212022Dec 20222023Dec 20232024Dec 20242025Dec 2025
Gross margin———————91.8%76.3%68.4%74.1%53.8%58.4%67.6%66.8%66.6%
Operating margin11.2%5.5%−7.6%3.4%21.4%25.5%16.5%0.4%9.5%−8.6%6.1%−27.2%20.6%36.3%29.9%31.9%
Net margin−12.8%−18.1%−8.1%−6.3%−2.7%3.4%−5.3%−8.7%−4.6%−24.4%−7.2%1.1%6.6%10.3%11.0%10.3%
Free-cash-flow margin——−11.8%−25.2%−27.5%−41.6%1.2%−27.1%−29.6%29.2%84.4%8.3%16.7%43.0%32.5%11.7%
Return on equity−8.0%−10.8%−4.9%−3.6%−1.7%2.3%−3.2%−4.7%−2.8%−11.4%−3.3%0.3%4.1%9.5%7.2%4.8%
Return on assets−2.7%−3.4%−1.4%−1.0%−0.5%0.7%−1.0%−1.6%−1.0%−3.8%−1.1%0.1%1.8%6.9%6.2%4.3%
Asset turnover0.210.190.180.160.170.200.180.180.210.150.150.100.270.670.560.42
Current ratio1.091.121.020.860.980.700.780.611.310.980.761.543.555.336.998.89
Debt to equity133.0%164.8%174.2%190.7%198.9%202.1%164.6%119.8%117.3%111.9%24.5%28.6%1.5%0.0%0.0%0.0%
Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest)1.7x0.8xn/m0.3x2.0x2.6x1.4x0.0x0.6xn/m0.8xn/m6.4x19.0x48.4x104.6x
Effective tax rate———7.5%7.6%−4.3%22.0%—————0.7%2.3%0.1%−1.3%
Capital spending as % of revenue——26.4%41.2%49.9%73.3%27.8%56.1%40.1%0.9%1.4%3.1%0.0%0.0%5.8%20.0%
Free cash flow ÷ net income—————<−999%—————726.0%254.0%418.1%296.5%113.7%
Dividends ÷ net income—————153.2%—————0.0%0.0%0.0%63.6%86.9%
Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow——————61.7%——8.4%0.0%0.0%7.7%8.1%38.1%80.9%

Returns use average equity or assets over the year. Return on equity is left blank when equity is negative or so small that the ratio says nothing (above ±200%); interest cover is left blank above 200 times. Price-based ratios such as P/E are on the valuation page.

Financial health

3 of 3 checks passed · December 31, 2025
What it owns · $2.4bn
Short-term assets $1.2bnLonger-term assets $1.2bn
What it owes, and who funded it · $2.4bn
Short-term liabilities $135mLonger-term liabilities $63mShareholders' equity $2.2bn
  • Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.2bn of assets due within a year against $135m of liabilities due within a year.
  • Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.2bn short-term assets against $63m of longer-dated liabilities.
  • More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
  • A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $303m against $3m of interest.

From Teekay Corp LTD's latest balance sheet as filed. Checks are fixed, documented rules (methodology), counted only where the company reports the figures — a dot means the filing doesn't break the item out. Descriptions of reported data, not advice.

Moat

Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.

A rules-based reading of reported figures, not a forecast and not investment advice. How the score is built: methodology.

Compare with peers

Head to head: TK vs TNKCMRE vs TKDAC vs TK

More: Marine Transportation stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies

Figures from Teekay Corp LTD's SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q). How we read and check them: methodology and data sources. Not investment advice. Back to Teekay Corp LTD.