Telos Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Telos Corp had return on equity of -32.8%, an operating margin of -24.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.57. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 16.5% | 20.9% | 25.0% | 24.2% | 18.6% | 19.6% | 25.4% | 32.2% | 37.7% | 38.4% | 32.9% | 34.7% | 35.5% | 36.4% | 36.4% | 31.8% | 37.0% | 36.6% |
| Operating margin | 5.0% | 6.6% | 6.7% | 7.8% | 2.9% | −9.1% | −3.0% | 1.6% | 0.4% | 6.5% | 3.2% | 0.2% | −17.1% | −24.8% | −27.7% | −51.6% | −24.2% | −9.9% |
| Net margin | 0.5% | 1.3% | 0.8% | 3.3% | −1.3% | −9.6% | −13.2% | −5.3% | −5.4% | −1.2% | −4.0% | 0.9% | −17.8% | −24.6% | −23.7% | −48.5% | −22.2% | −8.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 1.3% | 1.1% | 7.5% | 6.8% | 2.1% | 4.3% | 1.9% | 9.8% | −1.2% | 2.8% | 4.9% | −1.6% | 1.7% | 7.1% | 0.5% | −26.0% | 17.9% | 17.4% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −28.1% | −30.3% | −20.8% | −36.7% | −32.8% | −16.6% |
| Return on assets | — | 4.1% | 1.8% | 8.8% | −3.1% | −15.1% | −23.8% | −12.3% | −8.9% | −2.2% | −8.4% | 1.3% | −20.1% | −22.1% | −15.4% | −28.6% | −24.5% | −11.3% |
| Asset turnover | — | 3.02 | 2.31 | 2.68 | 2.47 | 1.57 | 1.80 | 2.31 | 1.64 | 1.85 | 2.09 | 1.38 | 1.13 | 0.90 | 0.65 | 0.59 | 1.11 | 1.39 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.46 | 1.36 | 1.41 | 1.49 | 1.11 | 1.04 | 0.74 | 0.91 | 1.05 | 1.08 | 3.70 | 3.76 | 3.69 | 3.57 | 4.13 | 2.57 | 2.38 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 1.9x | 2.4x | 2.0x | 2.7x | 1.1x | n/m | n/m | 0.4x | 0.1x | 1.2x | 0.7x | 0.0x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 64.9% | 52.6% | 48.0% | 43.2% | — | — | — | — | — | 1.8% | — | −0.7% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 0.4% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.8% | 1.7% | 1.7% | 2.4% | 3.2% | 6.3% | 6.7% | 7.9% | 7.9% | 7.8% | 8.1% | 7.8% | 4.3% | 3.4% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 11.6% | 14.3% | 18.4% | 16.4% | 15.7% | 28.7% | 28.4% | 30.6% | 37.3% | 31.9% | 29.7% | 34.5% | 52.6% | 61.3% | 55.7% | 69.7% | 47.9% | 35.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.4% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.5% | 0.3% | 0.5% | 0.7% | 1.8% | 2.6% | 0.4% | 1.3% | 0.5% | 0.6% | 2.1% | 0.4% | 0.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 289.9% | 80.1% | 983.8% | 207.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −171.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | 30.8% | 71.9% | 21.0% | — | 46.3% | 48.9% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 13.2% | 40.3% | 39.8% | 33.2% | 39.9% | 35.0% | 36.4% | 35.0% |
| Operating margin | −121.4% | −37.6% | −29.5% | −27.5% | −4.8% | −39.6% | 3.0% | 0.6% |
| Net margin | −118.0% | −35.4% | −28.1% | −26.5% | −4.1% | −34.9% | 4.2% | 1.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −30.0% | −47.0% | 19.5% | 19.0% | 16.9% | 17.0% | 17.8% | 18.0% |
| Current ratio | 3.64 | 4.13 | 4.00 | 2.65 | 2.76 | 2.57 | 2.59 | 2.38 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 10.1% | 5.3% | 5.1% | 4.2% | 3.7% | 4.4% | 2.8% | 2.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 97.7% | 72.6% | 64.1% | 56.4% | 41.0% | 38.2% | 30.5% | 31.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $97m of assets due within a year against $41m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $97m short-term assets against $6m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$19m against $483,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Telos's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -14.1% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 13 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 35.6%, moving by 1.8 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -13.5%; its worst year was -49.4%.
- Cash conversion 8 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 2.6% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 35.8% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 20.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (31 before it).
Compare with peers
- TSS, Inc. statistics
- Clps Inc statistics
- Mastech Digital, Inc. statistics
- LZ Technology Holdings Ltd statistics
- Widepoint Corp statistics
Head to head: TLS vs TSSICLPS vs TLSMHH vs TLS
More: IT Consulting & Other Services stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies