Tencent Music Entertainment Group key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Tencent Music Entertainment Group had return on equity of 14.8%, an operating margin of 40.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.22. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 28.3% | 34.7% | 38.3% | 34.1% | 31.9% | 30.1% | 31.0% | 35.3% | 42.3% | 44.2% |
| Operating margin | 2.4% | 14.5% | 10.7% | 18.2% | 16.2% | 12.2% | 15.7% | 21.8% | 30.7% | 40.6% |
| Net margin | 1.9% | 12.1% | 9.7% | 15.7% | 14.3% | 9.7% | 13.0% | 17.7% | 23.4% | 33.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 19.1% | 22.1% | 29.0% | 24.0% | 16.4% | 16.3% | 26.1% | 25.8% | 35.1% | 30.2% |
| Return on equity | 0.4% | 5.6% | 5.8% | 9.8% | 8.4% | 5.9% | 7.4% | 9.4% | 10.8% | 14.8% |
| Return on assets | — | 4.3% | 5.0% | 8.2% | 6.7% | 4.5% | 5.4% | 6.8% | 8.0% | 11.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.35 | 0.52 | 0.52 | 0.47 | 0.46 | 0.42 | 0.39 | 0.34 | 0.34 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.12 | 3.33 | 3.17 | 3.30 | 2.56 | 2.27 | 2.49 | 2.09 | 2.22 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 9.9% | 10.1% | 11.5% | 10.1% | — | 0.0% |
| Effective tax rate | 25.4% | 17.4% | 8.5% | 12.4% | 9.8% | 11.5% | 12.2% | 13.6% | 18.4% | 14.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 10.3% | 7.3% | 4.9% | 4.6% | 5.7% | 7.5% | 9.1% | 9.1% | 8.0% | 7.0% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.9% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.5% | 0.3% | 0.6% | 1.1% | 0.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | >999% | 182.9% | 300.1% | 153.3% | 115.0% | 167.7% | 201.1% | 145.8% | 149.8% | 89.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | 2.8% | 68.5% | 42.3% | 17.4% | 19.3% | 3.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $4.6bn of assets due within a year against $2.1bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $4.6bn short-term assets against $698m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $1.9bn against $2m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Pinterest, Inc. statistics
- Bilibili Inc. statistics
- Match Group, Inc. statistics
- Snap Inc statistics
- Reddit, Inc. statistics
Head to head: PINS vs TMEBILI vs TMEMTCH vs TMESNAP vs TME
More: Interactive Media & Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies