Vale S.a. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Vale S.a. had return on equity of 7.0%, an operating margin of 15.4%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.15. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 19.8% | 35.8% | 38.1% | 39.6% | 47.2% | 55.6% | 60.1% | 45.2% | 42.3% | 36.2% | 35.0% |
| Operating margin | −26.6% | 25.7% | 32.2% | 32.7% | 10.7% | 32.4% | 50.8% | 39.3% | 34.0% | 28.3% | 15.4% |
| Net margin | −51.9% | 14.5% | 16.2% | 18.8% | −4.6% | 12.3% | 41.2% | 42.9% | 19.1% | 16.2% | 6.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | 5.3% | 25.4% | 35.3% | 33.1% | 36.2% | 47.1% | — | — | — | — |
| Return on equity | −34.0% | 10.7% | 13.4% | 15.7% | −4.0% | 12.9% | 63.9% | 53.4% | 21.2% | 16.9% | 7.0% |
| Return on assets | — | 4.0% | 5.6% | 7.3% | −1.9% | 5.3% | 24.7% | 21.3% | 8.8% | 7.1% | 2.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.28 | 0.34 | 0.39 | 0.41 | 0.43 | 0.60 | 0.50 | 0.46 | 0.44 | 0.46 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.01 | 1.45 | 1.68 | 1.23 | 1.67 | 1.47 | 1.12 | 1.28 | 1.03 | 1.15 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 75.1% | 51.7% | 35.2% | 32.6% | 42.0% | 40.0% | 35.4% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | 4.0x | 6.4x | 10.1x | 3.8x | 15.9x | 37.7x | 27.4x | 18.0x | 7.7x | 4.5x |
| Effective tax rate | — | 34.8% | 19.1% | −2.5% | — | 10.5% | 15.9% | 15.0% | 27.3% | 10.8% | 57.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.7% | 1.2% | 1.0% | 1.0% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 1.0% | 1.5% | 1.7% | 2.1% | 1.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 34.7% | 18.0% | 11.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 36.4% | 156.5% | 188.1% | — | 293.4% | 114.4% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | 7.8% | — | — | 21.6% | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $18.3bn of assets due within a year against $15.9bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $18.3bn short-term assets against $36.3bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $5.9bn against $1.3bn of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- BHP Group Ltd statistics
- Sibanye Stillwater Ltd statistics
- Nexa Resources S.a. statistics
- Materion Corp statistics
- Ferroglobe PLC statistics
Head to head: BHP vs VALESBSW vs VALENEXA vs VALE
More: Diversified Metals & Mining stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies