Workiva Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Workiva Inc had an operating margin of -4.8% and a current ratio of 1.57. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 71.1% | 71.0% | 73.0% | 71.5% | 74.4% | 76.6% | 75.9% | 75.5% | 76.7% | 78.5% | 80.2% |
| Operating margin | −24.4% | −21.3% | −20.4% | −15.2% | −10.8% | −6.6% | −16.5% | −15.0% | −10.4% | −4.8% | 3.3% |
| Net margin | −24.6% | −21.4% | −20.5% | −15.9% | −13.8% | −8.5% | −16.9% | −20.2% | −7.5% | −3.0% | 4.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −6.9% | 2.1% | 2.2% | 9.3% | 8.9% | 10.4% | 1.5% | 10.9% | 11.7% | 15.6% | 20.8% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | — | −81.7% | −55.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Return on assets | −30.7% | −29.5% | −25.8% | −10.9% | −7.2% | −5.1% | −11.3% | −12.5% | −4.3% | −1.8% | 3.3% |
| Asset turnover | 1.25 | 1.38 | 1.26 | 0.68 | 0.52 | 0.59 | 0.67 | 0.62 | 0.57 | 0.62 | 0.67 |
| Current ratio | 0.98 | 0.89 | 0.93 | 2.46 | 2.25 | 1.02 | 1.47 | 2.08 | 1.77 | 1.57 | 1.47 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 517.7% | 450.4% | 409.2% | >999% | — | — | — | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.5x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 9.8% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 32.2% | 32.8% | 33.4% | 30.2% | 27.0% | 26.1% | 28.2% | 27.4% | 26.1% | 24.3% | 22.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.1% | 0.6% | 0.5% | 1.0% | 0.5% | 0.8% | 0.6% | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 426.3% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 51.9% | 96.8% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 76.5% | 77.1% | 76.6% | 77.0% | 79.3% | 80.7% | 80.4% | 80.4% |
| Operating margin | −11.7% | −6.7% | −12.0% | −10.3% | −1.5% | 3.3% | 6.2% | 4.6% |
| Net margin | −9.2% | −4.4% | −10.4% | −9.0% | 1.2% | 4.9% | 7.7% | 5.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 10.1% | 21.6% | −3.9% | 22.9% | 20.5% | 21.2% | 10.4% | 30.5% |
| Current ratio | 1.83 | 1.77 | 1.78 | 1.54 | 1.58 | 1.57 | 1.62 | 1.47 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 26.1% | 25.3% | 26.1% | 25.5% | 22.9% | 22.9% | 21.4% | 22.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.1bn of assets due within a year against $723m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.1bn short-term assets against $749m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $31m against $13m of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Workiva's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 16.7% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 76.0%, moving by 2.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -12.7%; its worst year was -26.5%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 9 years, at a median 9.2% of revenue.
- Discipline 2 / 20
The diluted share count rose 14.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 12.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (65 before it).
Compare with peers
- Progress Software Corp statistics
- Clear Secure, Inc. statistics
- Freshworks Inc. statistics
- Coursera, Inc. statistics
- Alarm.com Holdings, Inc. statistics
Head to head: PRGS vs WKWK vs YOUFRSH vs WK
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies