Weis Markets Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Weis Markets Inc had return on equity of 6.7%, an operating margin of 2.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.93. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 27.0% | 27.2% | 26.7% | 27.5% | 27.7% | 27.1% | 27.3% | 27.5% | 26.3% | 26.6% | 26.5% | 26.8% | 26.4% | 25.5% | 24.9% | 25.0% | 25.0% | 25.5% |
| Operating margin | 3.8% | 4.0% | 4.2% | 4.7% | 4.2% | 2.9% | 3.2% | 3.1% | 2.3% | 2.4% | 2.4% | 4.0% | 3.5% | 3.3% | 2.8% | 2.6% | 2.3% | 2.5% |
| Net margin | 2.5% | 2.6% | 2.7% | 3.1% | 2.7% | 2.0% | 2.1% | 2.8% | 2.8% | 1.8% | 1.9% | 2.9% | 2.6% | 2.7% | 2.1% | 2.2% | 1.9% | 2.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 2.9% | 2.9% | 1.5% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 1.6% | 1.6% | 0.2% | 1.8% | 1.6% | 2.0% | 3.6% | 1.8% | 2.0% | 2.1% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.8% |
| Return on equity | 9.1% | 9.6% | 10.3% | 10.8% | 9.1% | 6.5% | 6.9% | 9.7% | 10.3% | 6.2% | 6.5% | 10.8% | 9.2% | 10.0% | 7.6% | 7.6% | 6.7% | 7.3% |
| Return on assets | — | 6.9% | 7.5% | 7.8% | 6.5% | 4.6% | 4.9% | 6.5% | 6.9% | 4.4% | 4.4% | 6.8% | 5.8% | 6.5% | 5.1% | 5.1% | 4.6% | 4.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | 2.64 | 2.72 | 2.55 | 2.41 | 2.37 | 2.37 | 2.35 | 2.41 | 2.44 | 2.28 | 2.35 | 2.26 | 2.44 | 2.37 | 2.33 | 2.41 | 2.49 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.20 | 2.17 | 2.25 | 2.09 | 2.12 | 2.05 | 1.75 | 1.76 | 1.76 | 1.74 | 1.81 | 1.95 | 2.12 | 2.41 | 2.41 | 1.93 | 2.03 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 7.0% | 3.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 83.0x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 35.9% | 36.4% | 35.7% | 37.0% | 38.2% | 35.0% | 35.7% | 30.1% | −24.5% | 23.6% | 23.3% | 27.3% | 26.6% | 22.1% | 29.3% | 26.9% | 24.4% | 24.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.8% | 2.7% | 4.0% | 4.1% | 4.8% | 2.9% | 3.1% | 4.5% | 2.8% | 2.7% | 2.9% | 3.2% | 3.6% | 2.6% | 2.2% | 3.4% | 4.1% | 4.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 117.3% | 112.6% | 55.4% | 17.2% | 19.9% | 80.8% | 78.4% | 8.0% | 64.3% | 87.0% | 103.3% | 123.6% | 69.7% | 76.6% | 96.8% | 24.6% | 5.1% | 39.3% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 49.7% | 45.7% | 77.2% | 39.1% | 44.1% | 59.4% | 54.4% | 37.0% | 32.8% | 51.9% | 49.1% | 28.0% | 30.9% | 27.9% | 36.3% | 34.5% | 37.5% | 33.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 45.1% | 40.6% | 139.3% | 227.5% | 221.4% | 73.5% | 69.4% | 465.6% | 51.0% | 59.6% | 47.5% | 22.7% | 44.3% | 36.5% | 37.5% | 140.1% | >999% | 86.1% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 24.6% | 25.4% | 24.8% | 25.2% | 24.7% | 25.3% | 26.3% | 25.8% |
| Operating margin | 2.3% | 3.3% | 1.8% | 2.5% | 1.7% | 3.2% | 2.8% | 2.3% |
| Net margin | 2.1% | 2.7% | 1.6% | 2.1% | 1.4% | 2.5% | 2.2% | 1.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −1.4% | 2.7% | −2.4% | 0.1% | −0.4% | 2.8% | −0.7% | 1.3% |
| Current ratio | 2.59 | 2.41 | 2.42 | 1.95 | 1.88 | 1.93 | 2.04 | 2.03 |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $678m of assets due within a year against $334m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $678m short-term assets against $325m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $126m against $51,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Weis Markets's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 7 / 20
Net income has been a median 5.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 10 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 26.2%, moving by 0.8 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 2.6%; its worst year was 2.2%.
- Cash conversion 10 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 1.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 14 / 20
The diluted share count fell 8.0% over five years.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Ingles Markets Inc statistics
- Grocery Outlet Holding Corp. statistics
- Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. statistics
- Village Super Market Inc statistics
- Casey's statistics
Head to head: IMKTA vs WMKGO vs WMKSFM vs WMKVLGEA vs WMK
More: Food Retail stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies