Borealis Foods Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Borealis Foods Inc. had an operating margin of -35.1% and a current ratio of 0.12. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMMar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | −4.3% | 7.5% | 11.2% | 10.6% |
| Operating margin | −66.5% | −70.1% | −35.1% | −31.4% |
| Net margin | −91.6% | −87.0% | −60.3% | −56.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −74.9% | −57.5% | −21.0% | −16.5% |
| Return on assets | −41.8% | −40.3% | −33.7% | −35.4% |
| Asset turnover | 0.46 | 0.46 | 0.56 | 0.63 |
| Current ratio | 0.26 | 0.46 | 0.12 | 0.10 |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.5% | 0.7% | 0.6% | 0.6% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 62.2% | 77.6% | 46.2% | 42.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 14.9% | 5.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q2Jun 2024 | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 7.9% | 16.6% | 3.1% | 12.5% | 7.2% | 14.6% | 10.2% | 10.8% |
| Operating margin | −97.4% | −47.1% | −56.4% | −40.4% | −46.7% | −27.1% | −27.5% | −26.5% |
| Net margin | −118.3% | −62.9% | −70.4% | −58.0% | −64.0% | −53.2% | −62.0% | −45.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −89.2% | −48.4% | −11.6% | −19.2% | — | −2.7% | −27.5% | −1.6% |
| Current ratio | 0.53 | 0.44 | 0.46 | 0.29 | 0.25 | 0.15 | 0.12 | 0.10 |
| Debt to equity | 30.3% | 59.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.9% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.4% | 0.6% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 105.4% | 63.7% | 59.5% | 52.8% | 53.9% | 41.7% | 37.7% | 37.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $7m of assets due within a year against $72m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $7m short-term assets against $2m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$10m against $6m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- DDC Enterprise Ltd statistics
- Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Inc. statistics
- Barfresh Food Group Inc. statistics
- Branchout Food Inc. statistics
- Laird Superfood, Inc. statistics
Head to head: BRLS vs DDCBRLS vs RMCFBRFH vs BRLS
More: Packaged Foods & Meats stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies