Cumberland Pharmaceuticals Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Cumberland Pharmaceuticals Inc had return on equity of -11.9%, an operating margin of -6.3%, debt equal to 21.1% of equity and a current ratio of 1.01. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 82.0% | 82.1% | 79.5% | 78.4% | 76.9% | 75.5% | 78.3% | 84.7% | 82.6% | 85.0% | — |
| Operating margin | 13.3% | 14.2% | 19.3% | 18.1% | −11.9% | 9.6% | 3.3% | −4.3% | −9.9% | −38.1% | −27.0% | −17.0% | −21.3% | −13.6% | −24.2% | −17.0% | −6.3% | −24.1% |
| Net margin | 7.1% | 5.4% | 11.1% | 12.0% | −6.6% | 6.6% | 2.2% | −2.9% | −19.4% | −23.7% | −10.3% | −8.9% | −9.7% | −13.3% | −15.9% | −17.1% | −6.4% | −27.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.5% | −0.5% | 16.6% | 13.7% | 2.0% | 17.7% | 17.1% | 1.3% | −2.0% | 9.1% | 8.2% | 14.1% | 17.3% | 19.9% | 14.7% | −1.8% | 10.9% | 1.7% |
| Return on equity | 4.3% | 3.3% | 7.0% | 6.9% | −2.5% | 3.0% | 0.9% | −1.3% | −11.6% | −11.6% | −6.6% | −6.8% | −7.8% | −14.1% | −19.1% | −24.7% | −11.9% | −51.6% |
| Return on assets | — | 2.7% | 6.0% | 6.0% | −2.3% | 2.6% | 0.8% | −1.0% | −8.5% | −6.8% | −3.3% | −3.3% | −3.9% | −6.3% | −7.2% | −8.2% | −3.7% | −15.6% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.50 | 0.55 | 0.50 | 0.34 | 0.40 | 0.36 | 0.36 | 0.44 | 0.28 | 0.32 | 0.37 | 0.40 | 0.47 | 0.45 | 0.48 | 0.58 | 0.57 |
| Current ratio | — | 8.78 | 13.23 | 10.83 | 9.10 | 5.15 | 5.20 | 4.43 | 3.88 | 2.13 | 2.08 | 1.95 | 2.37 | 1.60 | 1.28 | 1.15 | 1.01 | 0.96 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 6.9% | 5.9% | 5.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 2.2% | 5.6% | 15.3% | 35.8% | 36.2% | 31.9% | 35.0% | 44.7% | 43.2% | 89.2% | 21.1% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 7.5x | 4.6x | 27.9x | 122.5x | n/m | 53.1x | 15.1x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 39.8% | 54.0% | 42.0% | 35.9% | — | 36.9% | 46.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 11.5% | 9.4% | 9.8% | 10.4% | 17.5% | 9.2% | 11.5% | 9.7% | 10.4% | 25.8% | 20.0% | 15.4% | 15.8% | 15.9% | 14.8% | 12.7% | 12.5% | 12.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.4% | 1.3% | 0.5% | 1.0% | 0.3% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.7% | 1.6% | 0.7% | 0.4% | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.7% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −6.4% | −9.4% | 149.6% | 114.2% | — | 269.4% | 784.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | 50.2% | 121.2% | 740.1% | 66.1% | 93.1% | 574.7% | — | 108.4% | 124.4% | 35.1% | 22.2% | 12.6% | 12.7% | — | 5.4% | 10.4% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 85.4% | 81.1% | 87.8% | 81.4% | 88.1% | 83.6% | 78.8% | — |
| Operating margin | −18.6% | −17.7% | 11.0% | −28.8% | −23.7% | −10.0% | −34.3% | −35.9% |
| Net margin | −17.0% | −18.2% | 10.7% | −6.8% | −23.4% | −10.3% | −36.0% | −48.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 5.1% | 18.2% | 32.9% | 7.5% | 2.0% | 0.0% | 4.2% | 1.5% |
| Current ratio | 1.13 | 1.15 | 1.25 | 1.30 | 1.23 | 1.01 | 0.95 | 0.96 |
| Debt to equity | — | 22.3% | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 14.4% | 12.4% | 11.1% | 7.7% | 15.1% | 11.3% | 16.0% | 8.8% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $34m of assets due within a year against $35m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $34m short-term assets against $11m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$10m against $309,204 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Cumberland Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 4 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 4.5% of total assets over 8 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 81.3%, moving by 3.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -13.9%; its worst year was -29.3%.
- Cash conversion 13 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 8.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 17 / 20
The diluted share count fell 1.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (62 before it).
Compare with peers
- IM Cannabis Corp. statistics
- BGM Group Ltd. statistics
- Sunshine Biopharma Inc. statistics
- Biofrontera Inc. statistics
- Scilex Holding Co statistics
Head to head: CPIX vs IMCCBGM vs CPIXCPIX vs SBFMBFRI vs CPIX
More: Pharmaceuticals stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies