Diversified Energy Co key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Diversified Energy Co had return on equity of 49.3%, an operating margin of 29.2%, debt equal to 303.4% of equity and a current ratio of 0.60. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 56.9% | −12.8% | 29.2% | 32.6% |
| Net margin | 38.4% | −13.8% | 18.6% | 22.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 11.1% | 22.3% | 15.3% | — |
| Return on equity | 139.2% | −22.3% | 49.3% | 46.8% |
| Return on assets | — | −2.6% | 6.7% | 7.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.19 | 0.36 | 0.33 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.39 | 0.60 | 0.57 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 433.8% | 303.4% | 313.3% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 8.5x | n/m | 2.5x | — |
| Effective tax rate | 24.2% | — | −13.5% | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.8% | 6.9% | 10.1% | — |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 29.0% | — | 82.1% | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 22.4% | — | 24.9% | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 77.4% | 49.8% | 30.4% | — |
| Quarter | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −300.9% | 49.7% | 36.2% | 37.6% | −923.1% | 58.1% |
| Net margin | −517.0% | 50.7% | 34.2% | 29.3% | −591.7% | 30.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 90.9% | 3.2% | — | — | 407.9% | 6.0% |
| Current ratio | — | — | — | 0.60 | 0.47 | 0.57 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 300.0% | 393.8% | 308.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $552m of assets due within a year against $970m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $552m short-term assets against $4.2bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt $8m of cash against $2.9bn of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 308% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Talos Energy Inc. statistics
- Northern OIL & GAS, Inc. statistics
- Comstock Resources Inc statistics
- Kosmos Energy Ltd. statistics
- CNX Resources Corp statistics
Head to head: DEC vs TALODEC vs NOGCRK vs DEC
More: Oil & Gas Exploration & Production stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies