Consolidated Edison key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Consolidated Edison had return on equity of 8.8%, an operating margin of 17.3%, debt equal to 113.2% of equity and a current ratio of 1.02. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 14.6% | 15.9% | 17.4% | 19.2% | 18.2% | 17.1% | 19.3% | 23.0% | 23.1% | 21.6% | 21.3% | 21.7% | 20.7% | 16.7% | 21.8% | 17.5% | 17.3% | 18.0% |
| Net margin | 6.7% | 7.5% | 8.2% | 9.4% | 8.6% | 8.5% | 9.5% | 10.3% | 12.7% | 11.2% | 10.7% | 9.0% | 9.8% | 10.6% | 17.2% | 11.9% | 12.0% | 12.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 18.9% | 17.7% | 23.7% | 20.1% | 19.0% | 20.5% | 22.2% | −14.7% | −2.0% | −20.7% | −4.3% | −15.4% | −9.0% | −3.4% | 14.7% | 23.7% | 28.4% | 22.4% |
| Return on equity | 8.4% | 9.2% | 9.3% | 9.7% | 8.8% | 8.8% | 9.3% | 9.1% | 10.3% | 8.6% | 7.7% | 6.0% | 6.9% | 8.2% | 12.0% | 8.4% | 8.8% | 8.9% |
| Return on assets | 2.6% | 2.9% | 2.8% | 2.8% | 2.6% | 2.6% | 2.7% | 2.7% | 3.2% | 2.7% | 2.4% | 1.8% | 2.1% | 2.5% | 3.7% | 2.7% | 2.8% | 2.9% |
| Asset turnover | 0.38 | 0.38 | 0.34 | 0.30 | 0.30 | 0.31 | 0.28 | 0.26 | 0.25 | 0.24 | 0.22 | 0.20 | 0.22 | 0.24 | 0.22 | 0.22 | 0.23 | 0.23 |
| Current ratio | 1.10 | 1.45 | 1.22 | 0.87 | 0.82 | 0.99 | 0.81 | 0.89 | 0.72 | 0.62 | 0.68 | 0.72 | 1.02 | 1.14 | 1.01 | 1.04 | 1.02 | 1.27 |
| Debt to equity | 101.2% | 94.7% | 91.6% | 95.3% | 101.5% | 102.6% | 109.4% | 110.7% | 107.7% | 118.9% | 120.2% | 127.6% | 122.4% | 126.1% | 115.9% | 122.4% | 113.2% | 102.2% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 3.2x | 3.6x | 3.8x | 3.9x | 3.1x | 3.8x | 3.8x | 4.1x | 3.8x | 3.3x | 2.7x | 2.6x | 3.1x | 3.1x | 3.1x | 2.2x | 2.4x | 2.6x |
| Effective tax rate | 33.4% | 35.3% | 36.1% | 34.5% | 30.9% | 34.2% | 33.6% | 35.9% | 23.6% | 22.5% | 17.1% | 7.3% | 13.7% | 23.7% | 16.2% | 14.9% | 22.1% | 23.6% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | — | — | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.6% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 1.4% | 3.9% | 43.4% | 30.0% | 42.5% | 29.2% | 33.4% | 29.0% | 28.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 279.5% | 234.6% | 287.9% | 214.5% | 221.6% | 242.8% | 233.4% | −142.7% | −15.7% | −184.8% | −40.4% | −171.4% | −91.5% | −31.9% | 85.6% | 198.6% | 237.3% | 178.4% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 68.4% | 62.7% | 65.3% | 62.1% | 67.9% | 67.7% | 61.4% | 61.3% | 52.7% | 60.9% | 68.8% | 88.6% | 76.5% | 65.6% | 43.5% | 60.4% | 57.6% | 54.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 24.5% | 26.7% | 21.7% | 29.3% | 31.0% | 28.3% | 26.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 97.2% | 30.4% | 24.3% | 30.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 21.1% | 13.0% | 23.4% | 9.9% | 21.4% | 12.2% | 23.1% | 13.6% |
| Net margin | 14.4% | 8.4% | 16.5% | 6.8% | 15.2% | 7.4% | 18.1% | 7.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 9.6% | 35.7% | 17.4% | 55.0% | 11.1% | 37.1% | 3.4% | 44.2% |
| Current ratio | 1.01 | 1.04 | 1.28 | 1.10 | 1.07 | 1.02 | 1.19 | 1.27 |
| Debt to equity | 107.0% | 112.5% | — | — | — | 106.7% | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $6.8bn of assets due within a year against $5.4bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $3.2bn against $1.2bn of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Consolidated Edison's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 1 / 20
Net income has been a median 2.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 16 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 21.1%; its worst year was 16.9%.
- Cash conversion 10 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 6.5% of revenue.
- Discipline 9 / 20
The diluted share count rose 6.9% over five years.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
More: Multi-Utilities stocks compared, Utilities sector, rankings of US companies