Freshpet, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Freshpet, Inc. had return on equity of 12.3%, an operating margin of 6.9%, debt equal to 32.9% of equity and a current ratio of 5.54. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 47.4% | 43.1% | 48.7% | 47.0% | 46.5% | 47.5% | 46.6% | 46.4% | 41.7% | 38.1% | 31.2% | 32.7% | 40.6% | 40.8% | 41.4% |
| Operating margin | −33.9% | −19.6% | −7.0% | −3.1% | −1.7% | −1.8% | −2.5% | −0.1% | −0.6% | −5.8% | −8.7% | −4.0% | 3.9% | 6.9% | 8.1% |
| Net margin | −42.9% | −34.3% | −43.0% | −3.2% | −2.4% | −2.8% | −2.8% | −0.6% | −1.0% | −7.0% | −10.0% | −4.4% | 4.8% | 12.6% | 17.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −80.7% | −56.8% | −29.0% | −17.5% | −13.2% | −1.8% | 1.2% | −22.1% | −35.6% | −75.5% | −45.9% | −21.3% | −3.4% | 1.1% | 5.2% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −3.6% | −3.0% | −3.8% | −4.5% | −1.1% | −1.2% | −5.3% | −6.8% | −3.4% | 4.7% | 12.3% | 16.6% |
| Return on assets | — | −34.6% | −42.7% | −3.3% | −2.6% | −3.3% | −3.9% | −0.7% | −1.0% | −4.9% | −6.2% | −2.6% | 3.1% | 8.3% | 11.3% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.01 | 0.99 | 1.03 | 1.08 | 1.17 | 1.41 | 1.31 | 0.95 | 0.70 | 0.62 | 0.59 | 0.64 | 0.66 | 0.66 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.42 | 5.54 | 2.78 | 1.03 | 1.61 | 1.70 | 1.29 | 3.29 | 2.55 | 2.92 | 4.79 | 4.42 | 5.54 | 6.05 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 6.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 83.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 41.2% | 37.4% | 32.9% | 32.2% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 3.1x | 5.4x | 6.8x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 1.3% | — | −28.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | 0.4% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.5% | 0.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 81.3% | 62.7% | 55.7% | 50.2% | 48.3% | 49.3% | 49.1% | 46.6% | 42.3% | 43.9% | 40.0% | 36.7% | 36.7% | 33.9% | 33.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 60.7% | 39.0% | 19.7% | 23.3% | 23.1% | 8.5% | 8.4% | 28.7% | 42.2% | 75.7% | 38.6% | 31.2% | 19.2% | 13.4% | 12.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −69.9% | 8.9% | 30.0% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | 11.1% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 40.4% | 42.5% | 39.4% | 40.9% | 39.5% | 43.3% | 40.5% | 42.1% |
| Operating margin | 4.7% | 7.4% | −4.4% | 6.7% | 8.6% | 15.6% | 1.5% | 7.1% |
| Net margin | 4.7% | 6.9% | −4.8% | 6.2% | 35.2% | 11.9% | 16.3% | 6.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 8.7% | −3.0% | −8.2% | 0.2% | 10.9% | 0.7% | 4.3% | 4.8% |
| Current ratio | 4.72 | 4.42 | 4.91 | 4.81 | 5.52 | 5.54 | 6.18 | 6.05 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 35.7% | 35.1% | 43.8% | 34.1% | 30.9% | 27.7% | 39.1% | 35.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $517m of assets due within a year against $86m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $517m short-term assets against $489m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $95m against $14m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Freshpet's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -2.7% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 11 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 41.1%, moving by 5.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -2.3%; its worst year was -8.5%.
- Cash conversion 1 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 1 of 10 years, at a median -11.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 8 / 20
The diluted share count rose 66.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Sanfilippo John B & SON Inc statistics
- Hain Celestial Group Inc statistics
- Simply Good Foods Co statistics
- Utz Brands, Inc. statistics
- J&J Snack Foods Corp statistics
Head to head: FRPT vs JBSSFRPT vs HAINFRPT vs SMPL
More: Packaged Foods & Meats stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies