Office Properties Income Trust key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Office Properties Income Trust had return on equity of -26.8%, a net margin of -61.5% and debt equal to 276.0% of equity. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMMar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 17.2% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Net margin | 3.8% | −5.1% | 4.5% | −27.1% | −61.5% | −73.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 28.9% | 22.8% | 22.5% | 13.4% | −1.5% | −7.1% |
| Return on equity | 0.9% | −1.4% | 1.7% | −9.5% | −26.8% | −38.3% |
| Return on assets | 0.3% | −0.5% | 0.6% | −3.4% | −7.5% | — |
| Asset turnover | 0.09 | 0.10 | 0.14 | 0.13 | 0.12 | — |
| Debt to equity | 170.2% | 186.1% | 139.9% | 227.8% | 276.0% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 0.8x | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | 2.4% | — | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 14.5% | 11.1% | 9.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 757.8% | — | 503.2% | — | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | >999% | — | 349.0% | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 158.8% | 175.3% | 69.7% | 3.3% | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q2Jun 2024 | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 61.6% | −48.4% | −125.7% | −40.4% | −36.0% | −60.8% | −113.0% | −85.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 25.8% | −14.1% | 21.8% | −25.2% | 28.3% | −11.2% | 1.7% | −48.6% |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 219.9% | — | — | — | 273.4% | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities The company doesn't report a short-term split. Not assessable.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt $51m of cash against $1.7bn of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 329% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Debt to equity moved from 172% to 329% over five years.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Brandywine Realty Trust statistics
- Piedmont Realty Trust, Inc. statistics
- Empire State Realty OP, L.p. statistics
- Empire State Realty Trust, Inc. statistics
- Copt Defense Properties statistics
Head to head: BDN vs OPIOPI vs PDMESBA vs OPI
More: Office REITs stocks compared, Real Estate sector, rankings of US companies