CPI Card Group Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, CPI Card Group Inc. had a net margin of 2.8%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 4.4% | 5.1% | 8.2% | 1.7% | −9.8% | −14.6% | −1.8% | 5.2% | 4.2% | 7.7% | 5.4% | 4.1% | 2.8% | 2.3% |
| Return on assets | — | 5.0% | 11.3% | 2.0% | −8.8% | −17.0% | −2.4% | 6.7% | 6.0% | 12.9% | 8.1% | 6.1% | 4.0% | 3.5% |
| Effective tax rate | 38.4% | 39.2% | 36.3% | 36.8% | — | — | — | −25.6% | 33.1% | 25.7% | 30.4% | 22.0% | 30.6% | 34.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 15.0% | 16.3% | 16.3% | 20.7% | 27.8% | 26.6% | 23.9% | 21.1% | 20.2% | 19.1% | 19.9% | 21.5% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | 746.2% | 139.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $188m of assets due within a year against $90m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $188m short-term assets against $312m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt $21m of cash against $262m of debt.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt $92m of operating cash flow against $262m of debt.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard CPI Card Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 19 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 14.4% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 12 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 33.3%, moving by 2.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 2 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 10.3%; its worst year was -7.6%.
- Cash conversion 12 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 5.1% of revenue.
- Discipline 15 / 20
The diluted share count rose 4.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (60 before it).
Compare with peers
- International Money Express, Inc. statistics
- Sezzle Inc. statistics
- Marqeta, Inc. statistics
- Flywire Corp statistics
- Priority Technology Holdings, Inc. statistics
Head to head: IMXI vs PMTSPMTS vs SEZLMQ vs PMTSFLYW vs PMTS
More: Transaction & Payment Processing Services stocks compared, Financials sector, rankings of US companies