Himax Technologies, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Himax Technologies, Inc. had return on equity of 4.9%, an operating margin of 5.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.58. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 24.4% | 23.3% | 20.5% | 24.9% | 48.4% | 40.5% | 27.9% | 30.5% | 30.6% |
| Operating margin | 1.2% | 0.5% | −2.7% | 6.5% | 35.2% | 21.4% | 4.6% | 7.5% | 5.3% |
| Net margin | 4.0% | 1.2% | −2.0% | 5.3% | 28.2% | 19.7% | 5.4% | 8.8% | 5.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −1.4% | −6.3% | −5.7% | 10.9% | 24.6% | 5.9% | 13.7% | 11.3% | 14.4% |
| Return on equity | 6.1% | 1.9% | −3.1% | 10.3% | 64.7% | 26.9% | 5.8% | 9.1% | 4.9% |
| Return on assets | 3.4% | 1.0% | −1.6% | 5.5% | 34.8% | 14.3% | 3.0% | 4.9% | 2.6% |
| Asset turnover | 0.85 | 0.88 | 0.81 | 1.03 | 1.23 | 0.73 | 0.57 | 0.55 | 0.49 |
| Current ratio | 1.93 | 1.67 | 1.59 | 1.97 | 1.98 | 1.93 | 1.69 | 1.65 | 1.58 |
| Debt to equity | 32.3% | 41.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 26.7x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 15.1% | 14.2% | — | 20.6% | 20.3% | 14.9% | −11.3% | −3.1% | 17.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 17.2% | 17.0% | 17.1% | 13.8% | 9.8% | 14.6% | 18.1% | 17.7% | 19.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 5.7% | 6.9% | 6.8% | 0.7% | 0.5% | 1.0% | 2.5% | 1.4% | 2.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −35.8% | −532.9% | — | 205.4% | 87.1% | 30.0% | 255.8% | 129.0% | 272.9% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 149.1% | 200.8% | — | 0.0% | 10.9% | 91.9% | 165.4% | 63.5% | 147.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | 0.0% | 12.5% | 306.4% | 64.7% | 50.0% | 57.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.3bn of assets due within a year against $800m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.3bn short-term assets against $33m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Silicon Laboratories Inc. statistics
- Photronics Inc statistics
- Rambus Inc statistics
- Silicon Motion Technology Corp statistics
- Chipmos Technologies Inc statistics
Head to head: HIMX vs SLABHIMX vs PLABHIMX vs RMBSHIMX vs IMOS
More: Semiconductors stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies