Silicon Motion Technology Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Silicon Motion Technology Corp had return on equity of 15.3%, an operating margin of 10.5%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.78. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 46.8% | 48.3% | 46.8% | 47.3% | 51.7% | 51.1% | 49.4% | 48.0% | 49.2% | 48.6% | 48.2% | 50.0% | 49.2% | 42.3% | 45.9% | 48.3% |
| Operating margin | 4.5% | 18.3% | 18.7% | 15.7% | 20.4% | 21.2% | 24.7% | 18.2% | 19.8% | 11.4% | 14.9% | 26.7% | 22.6% | 6.2% | 11.3% | 10.5% |
| Net margin | −3.9% | 18.5% | 16.8% | 12.2% | 15.4% | 16.7% | 19.9% | 14.3% | 18.5% | 14.1% | 14.8% | 21.7% | 18.2% | 8.3% | 11.1% | 13.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −12.3% | 22.0% | 23.1% | 16.1% | 19.7% | 11.7% | 20.4% | 17.6% | 6.3% | 14.6% | 18.1% | 16.3% | 5.4% | 15.5% | 4.1% | 0.7% |
| Return on equity | −3.3% | 23.1% | 20.4% | 10.3% | 15.5% | 18.6% | 28.2% | 16.0% | 19.1% | 12.0% | 14.6% | 32.9% | 24.8% | 7.2% | 11.8% | 15.3% |
| Return on assets | — | 16.8% | 16.6% | 8.6% | 13.0% | 14.8% | 21.1% | 11.5% | 14.4% | 9.4% | 11.1% | 23.3% | 17.9% | 5.4% | 8.8% | 10.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.91 | 0.99 | 0.71 | 0.85 | 0.89 | 1.06 | 0.81 | 0.78 | 0.67 | 0.75 | 1.08 | 0.98 | 0.65 | 0.79 | 0.79 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.20 | 4.58 | 6.06 | 5.18 | 3.57 | 3.27 | 3.21 | 4.39 | 4.30 | 3.89 | 2.91 | 4.29 | 3.73 | 3.98 | 2.78 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 61.4x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | 12.2% | 13.1% | 26.3% | 26.6% | 23.2% | 20.0% | 24.3% | 10.7% | 10.7% | 6.8% | 19.1% | 18.8% | 13.4% | 16.9% | 12.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 25.4% | 18.1% | 18.1% | 20.6% | 21.1% | 19.7% | 16.6% | 19.5% | 19.2% | 24.1% | 22.6% | 17.8% | 19.9% | 27.3% | 27.1% | 29.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.3% | 2.2% | 1.5% | 5.7% | 4.0% | 6.5% | 2.2% | 2.2% | 14.1% | 2.4% | 3.6% | 2.7% | 3.5% | 7.9% | 5.5% | 6.2% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 119.0% | 137.6% | 132.8% | 128.5% | 70.2% | 102.2% | 123.0% | 34.0% | 103.5% | 122.5% | 75.0% | 29.5% | 186.8% | 36.7% | 5.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 72.7% | 45.5% | 34.5% | 20.6% | 42.9% | 44.1% | 68.4% | 61.3% | 27.0% | 28.9% | 31.6% | 75.4% | 54.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 82.3% | 35.4% | 49.1% | 20.2% | 34.8% | 230.1% | 105.4% | 75.7% | 66.5% | 359.4% | 16.9% | 205.4% | >999% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $943m of assets due within a year against $340m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $943m short-term assets against $52m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Formfactor Inc statistics
- Photronics Inc statistics
- Silicon Laboratories Inc. statistics
- Himax Technologies, Inc. statistics
- Rambus Inc statistics
Head to head: FORM vs SIMOPLAB vs SIMOSIMO vs SLAB
More: Semiconductors stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies