Silicon Laboratories Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Silicon Laboratories Inc. had return on equity of -6.0%, an operating margin of -9.0%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 4.69. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Jan 2010 | 2010Jan 2011 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Jan 2015 | 2015Jan 2016 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Jan 2021 | 2021Jan 2022 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Jan 2026 | LTMJul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 63.4% | 65.7% | 60.7% | 60.0% | 60.8% | 61.0% | 59.0% | 60.4% | 59.1% | 60.1% | 59.1% | 57.7% | 59.0% | 62.7% | 58.9% | 53.4% | 58.2% | 60.6% |
| Operating margin | 15.1% | 17.6% | 10.2% | 15.2% | 11.1% | 8.3% | 5.0% | 9.5% | 11.1% | 9.8% | −18.7% | −21.0% | −4.6% | 11.6% | −3.1% | −28.3% | −9.0% | −5.1% |
| Net margin | 16.6% | 14.8% | 7.2% | 11.3% | 8.6% | 6.1% | 4.6% | 8.8% | 6.1% | 9.6% | 4.1% | 2.5% | 293.7% | 8.9% | −4.4% | −32.7% | −8.3% | −4.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 25.4% | 21.1% | 16.3% | −0.9% | 18.9% | 20.3% | 14.6% | 16.9% | 23.1% | 17.2% | 31.9% | 23.0% | 8.7% | 11.2% | −6.7% | −4.4% | 8.4% | −0.6% |
| Return on equity | 11.6% | 11.7% | 5.8% | 10.2% | 7.2% | 5.1% | 3.9% | 7.7% | 5.3% | 8.3% | 1.8% | 1.1% | 124.1% | 5.1% | −2.6% | −16.7% | −6.0% | −3.6% |
| Return on assets | 9.8% | 10.0% | 4.9% | 8.1% | 5.3% | 3.7% | 2.9% | 5.9% | 3.6% | 5.3% | 1.2% | 0.7% | 85.5% | 3.6% | −1.9% | −14.3% | −5.2% | −3.1% |
| Asset turnover | 0.59 | 0.67 | 0.69 | 0.71 | 0.62 | 0.61 | 0.63 | 0.67 | 0.59 | 0.55 | 0.29 | 0.28 | 0.29 | 0.40 | 0.43 | 0.44 | 0.63 | 0.68 |
| Current ratio | 5.91 | 6.19 | 5.47 | 4.40 | 4.21 | 3.24 | 2.97 | 3.51 | 5.84 | 5.71 | 6.85 | 3.43 | 3.35 | 7.87 | 4.51 | 6.15 | 4.69 | 5.41 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 15.4% | 12.9% | 11.5% | 10.2% | 8.8% | 35.9% | 33.2% | 33.0% | 47.0% | — | 37.7% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | 74.6x | 19.5x | 16.3x | 11.4x | 25.6x | — | 4.3x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 17.7x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | −6.0% | 16.4% | 32.2% | 26.4% | 19.7% | 22.5% | 2.2% | 4.7% | 38.8% | −15.8% | — | — | — | 29.6% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 23.7% | 25.1% | 27.7% | 24.5% | 27.2% | 27.9% | 29.2% | 28.6% | 27.2% | 27.5% | 43.4% | 46.0% | 37.9% | 32.5% | 43.2% | 56.9% | 45.0% | 42.2% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 24.7% | 23.1% | 22.9% | 20.3% | 22.5% | 24.8% | 24.9% | 22.3% | 20.8% | 22.8% | 34.4% | 32.6% | 25.7% | 18.6% | 18.8% | 24.9% | 22.2% | 23.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.0% | 2.8% | 1.8% | 18.1% | 1.8% | 1.8% | 1.7% | 1.6% | 1.6% | 2.8% | 3.2% | 3.5% | 4.0% | 2.6% | 2.8% | 2.0% | 3.8% | 4.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 153.2% | 142.1% | 225.7% | −7.9% | 220.2% | 332.0% | 318.3% | 191.9% | 376.4% | 178.3% | 785.0% | 938.7% | 3.0% | 125.5% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 18.0% | 134.8% | 137.5% | — | 23.7% | 56.8% | 75.9% | 34.4% | — | 26.3% | 17.7% | 13.8% | >999% | 769.9% | — | — | 0.0% | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Apr 2025 | 2025 Q2Jul 2025 | 2025 Q3Oct 2025 | 2025 Q4Jan 2026 | 2026 Q1Apr 2026 | 2026 Q2Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 54.3% | 54.3% | 55.0% | 56.1% | 57.8% | 63.4% | 59.5% | 61.6% |
| Operating margin | −17.9% | −17.2% | −18.1% | −11.9% | −6.0% | −1.6% | −8.0% | −4.7% |
| Net margin | −17.1% | −14.3% | −17.1% | −11.3% | −4.8% | −1.3% | −7.4% | −4.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 17.7% | 3.7% | 24.4% | −2.0% | 13.6% | −0.8% | −2.3% | −11.8% |
| Current ratio | 5.19 | 6.15 | 5.17 | 5.12 | 4.49 | 4.69 | 5.11 | 5.41 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 50.0% | 49.6% | 49.6% | 45.5% | 42.6% | 43.0% | 41.5% | 41.6% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 22.1% | 21.9% | 23.4% | 22.4% | 21.2% | 22.0% | 26.0% | 24.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $671m of assets due within a year against $124m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $671m short-term assets against $34m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$43m against $923,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Silicon Laboratories's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 18.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 19 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 59.8%, moving by 2.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 0.7%; its worst year was -33.3%.
- Cash conversion 15 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 13.1% of revenue.
- Discipline 13 / 20
The diluted share count fell 27.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 7.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Photronics Inc statistics
- Himax Technologies, Inc. statistics
- Silicon Motion Technology Corp statistics
- Formfactor Inc statistics
- Rambus Inc statistics
Head to head: PLAB vs SLABHIMX vs SLABSIMO vs SLABFORM vs SLAB
More: Semiconductors stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies